Search Results: "Martin Edwards"


BOOK REVIEW

WATERLOO SUNSET by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2008

"Edwards, ever the professional (The Arsenic Labyrinth, 2007, etc.), plots densely but lucidly and includes a surprisingly logical killer whose motive is perhaps just a mite obscure."
Welcome to your new offices. You're going to die within the week. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRIMSON SNOW by Martin Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Just the thing for readers who crave a retreat from their own rounds of obligatory social events and a rationale assuring them that attending Christmas parties can provide quite a shock to other people's systems."
Indefatigable author/editor Edwards (Serpents in Eden, 2016, etc.), diving once more into the past, dusts off 11 mostly forgotten seasonal reprints from the golden age of the detective story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUILTY PARTIES by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2014

"Though Johnston's story is the standout, the others are never less than professional and surprisingly varied, even when they're working the very same conventions."
This year's collection of two dozen new stories by members of the Crime Writers' Association (Guilty Consciences, 2012, etc.) shows just how far familiar recipes will take the contributors—and when they need to go the extra mile.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CIPHER GARDEN by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2005

"Edwards (Eve of Destruction, 1998, etc.) expertly scatters clues to an ugly series of surprises in the quiet manner of Peter Robinson and the early P.D. James. English village life, as they're always saying, will never be the same."
Historian Daniel Kind has left the BBC, but he can't shake loose of unsolved murders that have baffled the Cumbria Constabulary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUILTY CONSCIENCES by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2012

"The one cavil: very few guilty consciences on display here. Ah, that's England."
Seventeen mostly new, and veddy British, stories from the Crime Writers' Association (Original Sins, 2011, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SERPENTS IN EDEN by Martin Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2016

"A volume that may not persuade readers that there's menace in every meadow but certainly shows that English crime isn't confined to the Smoke."
Thirteen short stories, mostly written between the two world wars, reveal the dark side of life in the English countryside. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESORTING TO MURDER by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 2, 2015

"One truth emerges unchallenged: when English detectives go on holiday, they really do seem to relax a bit, or at least their creators do."
Fourteen reprints from England's golden age of detection (here, 1910-1953) show that although favorite sleuths may go on vacation, murder never does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DUNGEON HOUSE by Martin Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2015

"Despite the gap of all those years, Edwards works exceptionally close to his characters. So every complication he piles on so generously comes with a fresh sting, even if many readers will be left more bemused than challenged by this intricate puzzler."
In his seventh Lake District mystery (The Frozen Shroud, 2013, etc.), Edwards shows that a troubled local family can rename the Dungeon House as Ravenglass Knoll, but they can't erase its violent past or prevent a recurrence of the same fatal passions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HANGING WOOD by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2011

"Reliable Lake District family intrigue from a seasoned pro."
Hannah Scarlett's Cold Case Review Team has exactly one week to solve a 20-year-old mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SERPENT POOL by Martin Edwards
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"Apart from an over-the-top denouement, Edwards (Waterloo Sunset, 2008, etc.) provides a credible pairing of cozy and cerebral storytelling."
The spirit of Thomas De Quincey hovers over a Lake District murder case. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY CRIMINAL by Martin Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 15, 1997

"They might give you ideas."
Only the Crime Writers Association, with its ties to the long tradition of ironic British understatement, would ever have sponsored an entire anthology of perfect-crime stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >