Search Results: "Martin Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

THE HISTORY OF MONEY by Martin Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2014

"A thoughtful and entertaining story of how we got from trading a pig for a sack of rye to 'Chapter Fifteen: In which we discover how easy it is for money to disappear.' (author's note, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
A snappy course in the evolution of exchange. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

"The random assortment of facts may spark a mild interest in the topic, but it all reads like a middlebrow magazine article and is certainly no substitute for the more conscientious likes of Bruce Koscielniak's About Time (2004) or Joan Dash's Longitude Prize (2000). (Nonfiction. 10-12)"
Taking an amiable ramble through the story of how we have created measures for time, Jenkins steps out with random notes on animal migration and other signs of biological clocks, saunters past the invention of weeks, months, hours, minutes and mechanical clocks and fetches up at last with a brush past relativistic effects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JONATHAN SWIFT’S GULLIVER by Martin Jenkins
ADVENTURE
Released: March 31, 2005

A handsomely packaged alternative for readers not quite up for the original, this abridgement pairs a toned-down, quicker-moving but otherwise substantially intact version of Gulliver's four voyages with a generous array of vignettes, larger drawings and paintings—all featuring craggy-featured, elaborately clad (except, of course, for the dignified Houyhnhnms and capering but discreetly posed Yahoos) grotesques in extravagantly detailed settings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA ELEPHANT’S IN CHARGE by Martin Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"While not all grandmas will appreciate comparisons to the ponderous pachyderms, ones with a sense of humor will enjoy sharing this title with their grandchildren. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-8)"
Human grandmas and preschoolers will relish this picture-book look at grandma elephant, "the most important member of an elephant family." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FABULOUS FROGS by Martin Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Most frog books focus on life cycle; this one nicely highlights diversity instead. (Nonfiction picture book 3-6)"
An overview of the fantastic variety found among the over 5,000 frog species of the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRD BUILDS A NEST by Martin Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A worthy, if somewhat forced, venture into multidisciplinary teaching for very young children that may require caregivers to do some heavy lifting of their own. (index) (Informational picture book. 4-6)"
A generic mother bird learns to conquer the forces of physics while going about her daily chores. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXPLORING SPACE by Martin Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2017

"A coherent if unexceptional overview of the subject given a solid boost by the visuals. (index, timeline, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10-13)"
Finely detailed cutaway views of spacecraft and satellites launch a broad account of space exploration's past, present, and near future. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARTIN WILSON
by Megan Labrise

YA author Martin Wilson’s sophomore novel has a gut-punch premise: One hot day in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, an 11-year-old boy takes off on his bike and vanishes. Three years later, he returns, gravely changed.

“I’m trying to write stories that are honest and emotionally powerful,” says Wilson, author of We Now Return to Regular Life, based on a true story ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >