Search Results: "Martin Oliver"


BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 23, 2013

"A useful guide to handling everyday tasks and problems. (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
When you can't ask Mom or Dad how to do something or to do it for you, this may be the ideal book to have handy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"This catalog of major British kings, queens, wars, pivotal events and cultural milestones is unlikely to entertain—much less resonate with—American audiences. (index, royal timeline) (Nonfiction. 8-11)"
Fans of Terry Deary and Martin Brown's Horrible Histories and their ilk are unlikely to consider this latest imitation more than an also-ran. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS ONLY by Martin Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"Take this for what it is: a cute, quick offering, with likely appeal to even the most reluctant young boys. (Graphic nonfiction. 8-12)"
A slender, graphically formatted survival guide in the vein of Conn Iggulden's The Dangerous Book for Boys (2007) and Dominqiue Enright's The Boy's Book (2007). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARTIN WILSON
by Megan Labrise

YA author Martin Wilson’s sophomore novel has a gut-punch premise: One hot day in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, an 11-year-old boy takes off on his bike and vanishes. Three years later, he returns, gravely changed.

“I’m trying to write stories that are honest and emotionally powerful,” says Wilson, author of We Now Return to Regular Life, based on a true story ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LET THE GAMES BEGIN
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for Panic by Lauren Oliver

 

Cover Story: WTF
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 5
Talky Talk: Masterful
Bonus Factor: Tournament
Anti-Bonus Factors: Reader Superiority, Patty Chase Award For Awful Parenting
Relationship Status: I'll Split The Reward With You

Cover Story: WTF

This cover might make sense if, say, the book was ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

TIDE POOL SECRETS by Narelle Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A solid choice for those who live near or are interested in tide pools. (Informational picture book. 3-6)"
A lift-the-flap book explores tide pools. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT WASN'T ME by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Want to SEE a GOOD Book? Read this one. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The Hueys are back, and this time they're testy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS MOOSE BELONGS TO ME by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Pet lovers and nature lovers alike will enjoy this offbeat and entertaining tale. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Moose are not necessarily the best pets—except when it really matters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP AND DOWN by Oliver Jeffers
ADVENTURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"Children will intuit, absorb and appreciate this soothing book's heart—the fast, offbeat friendship that makes it so singular and appealing. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Jeffers revisits Lost and Found (2006), his sweet, muted story of friendship between a penguin and a boy, and he finds equal success with the same mild characters, understated humor, washes of watercolor and succinct, soft narration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MERMAIDS MOST AMAZING by Narelle Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

Oliver illustrates scattershot mentions of fish deities and merfolk sightings worldwide—plus some proven hoaxes—with dark-lined, hand-colored linocuts enhanced by the occasional shell, fishhook, or bit of netting. Read full book review >