Search Results: "Martin Oliver"


BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 23, 2013

"A useful guide to handling everyday tasks and problems. (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
When you can't ask Mom or Dad how to do something or to do it for you, this may be the ideal book to have handy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"This catalog of major British kings, queens, wars, pivotal events and cultural milestones is unlikely to entertain—much less resonate with—American audiences. (index, royal timeline) (Nonfiction. 8-11)"
Fans of Terry Deary and Martin Brown's Horrible Histories and their ilk are unlikely to consider this latest imitation more than an also-ran. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS ONLY by Martin Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"Take this for what it is: a cute, quick offering, with likely appeal to even the most reluctant young boys. (Graphic nonfiction. 8-12)"
A slender, graphically formatted survival guide in the vein of Conn Iggulden's The Dangerous Book for Boys (2007) and Dominqiue Enright's The Boy's Book (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIDE POOL SECRETS by Narelle Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A solid choice for those who live near or are interested in tide pools. (Informational picture book. 3-6)"
A lift-the-flap book explores tide pools. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT WASN'T ME by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Want to SEE a GOOD Book? Read this one. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The Hueys are back, and this time they're testy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS MOOSE BELONGS TO ME by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Pet lovers and nature lovers alike will enjoy this offbeat and entertaining tale. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Moose are not necessarily the best pets—except when it really matters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP AND DOWN by Oliver Jeffers
ADVENTURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2010

"Children will intuit, absorb and appreciate this soothing book's heart—the fast, offbeat friendship that makes it so singular and appealing. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Jeffers revisits Lost and Found (2006), his sweet, muted story of friendship between a penguin and a boy, and he finds equal success with the same mild characters, understated humor, washes of watercolor and succinct, soft narration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MERMAIDS MOST AMAZING by Narelle Oliver
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

Oliver illustrates scattershot mentions of fish deities and merfolk sightings worldwide—plus some proven hoaxes—with dark-lined, hand-colored linocuts enhanced by the occasional shell, fishhook, or bit of netting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT PAPER CAPER by Oliver Jeffers
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Sophisticated readers may giggle over the mystery and mock trial, and adults may admire the undeniably hip artwork, but the story's message is a bit convoluted, mixing themes of forgiveness, eco-consciousness and teamwork. (Picture book. 6-9)"
"There was a time in the forest / when everything was not as it should have been." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST AND FOUND by Oliver Jeffers
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Readers who (inexplicably) find David Lawrence's Pickle and Penguin (2004) just too weird may settle in more comfortably with this—slightly—less offbeat friendship tale. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A lad finds a penguin on his doorstep and resolutely sets out to return it in this briefly told import. Read full book review >