Search Results: "Marty Crump"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A portion of the sales will be donated to the Komodo Survival Program. (bibliography, further reading, glossary, websites, index, author's note) (Nonfiction. 9-11)"
Thousands of years ago, the Komodo dragon may have inspired dragon legends in China and beyond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING MARTY by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Smart, honest, and heart-achingly real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A failing peach farm and a mountain of bills force 12-year-old Lorenzo Ventura's mother to consider selling his best friend, Marty—a pig who thinks he is a dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLD CRUMP by Laurie Lawlor
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2002

"It would be nice to know the true story of these children and the ox, but this tale, like a mirage, is unfortunately not to be trusted. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Old Crump is a faithful ox who carries four children of forty-niners safely through Death Valley and across the mountains into California. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MYSTERY OF DARWIN'S FROG by Marty Crump
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"An attractively designed and informative introduction to a fascinating amphibian full of strange surprises. (glossary, bibliography, websites, index) (Nonfiction. 7-11)"
In an engaging blend of biology and history, frog scientist Crump tells the story of how we have come to know what we do about one of the world's most unusual frogs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOTALLY TARDY MARTY by Erica S. Perl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"This one can be permanently late. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A young boy who's always late for school learns to be on time and finds a friend along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AVRIL CRUMP AND HER AMAZING CLONES by Angela Woolfe
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2005

"Not a first purchase, but worth a look. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Dr. Avril Crump has never been the standout scientist at Leviticus Laboratories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMARTY MARTY STEPS UP HER GAME by Amy Gutierrez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"Light on actual baseball action, but the empowerment message comes through loud and clear. (author interview) (Fiction. 8-10)"
A bully's threats complicate a young baseball lover's chance to try her hand at announcing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BRIEF HISTORY OF SCIENCE by Thomas Crump
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"A largely satisfying highlight reel suggesting that if you slept through high-school physics, it might well have been the teacher's fault."
Ambitious work presenting crucial scientific milestones through the experimental devices that recorded, measured, or otherwise enabled them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST EVERYBODY FARTS by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"A playful, punchy paean to the pervasive poot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
What's that smell? Oh how rude! But everybody does it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VALLEY OF SECRETS by Charmian Hussey
ADVENTURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Crump contributes small, atmospheric chapter-head scenes, which don't help to plug the holes in this leaky, agenda-driven tale. (lists of species, multimedia resources) (Fiction. 11-13)"
Hussey stretches a short story's worth of ineptly developed plot over tedious rambles about the Cornish countryside, un-compelling mysteries revealed with agonizing slowness, prolonged flashbacks in the form of passages from an old diary, and whiny rants against faceless rain-forest despoilers. Read full book review >