Search Results: "Marty Martin"


BOOK REVIEW

MARTIN LUTHER by Martin Marty
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 2, 2004

"'Sin boldly,' Luther proclaimed. The only flaw in this bold interpretation, and one by design, is that it is too short. A fine brief on a world-changing figure."
A noted Lutheran historian turns to the founder of his faith, delivering a thoughtful portrait of a complex, controversial figure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING MARTY by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Smart, honest, and heart-achingly real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A failing peach farm and a mountain of bills force 12-year-old Lorenzo Ventura's mother to consider selling his best friend, Marty—a pig who thinks he is a dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 25, 2012

"While it's not a road map to riches, this comprehensive guide can help lead you to greater financial understanding and maybe even achievement, no matter your income level."
A financial psychologist encourages consumers to take an introspective approach to achieving financial independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOTALLY TARDY MARTY by Erica S. Perl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"This one can be permanently late. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A young boy who's always late for school learns to be on time and finds a friend along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"His volume will be an important link to retrieving the elusive America of McCarthy, the Cold War, and the Niebuhrs. (illustrations, not seen)"
An excellent history by one of the most distinguished American religious scholars of our time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1991

"Comprehensive and readable, but lacking depth: scholars will find surprisingly little analysis, and no new insights."
The latest addition—succeeding The Irony of It All (1986)— to the projected four-volume survey of 20th-century American religion by the well-known Univ. of Chicago historian (Religion and the Republic, 1987; Pilgrims in Their Own Land, 1984, etc.). ``Will America remain Protestant and Anglo-Saxon?'' According to Marty, this was the central question of the period between the world wars, posed by old-stock Americans and immigrant newcomers alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTIAN WORLD by Martin E. Marty
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 15, 2008

"Sturdy church history, vivified by a fresh, though not always seamless approach."
Christian history within the context of continents as well as content. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

"Unfortunately, recent experience suggests that humans may be more prickly than porcupines."
Marty (Religion/Univ. of Chicago; The Glory and the Power, 1992, etc.) struggles to define a moderate position within an emotionally charged debate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY MARTIN by Ronald L. Davis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2008

"Martin's star quality prevails."
Affectionate but not airbrushed portrait of the Broadway diva who got her first big break with a naughty Cole Porter song but flew into legend in a children's classic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAN MARTIN by Michael Freedland
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 15, 2006

"Dino light and lively; anyone seeking a probing look at the life of Dean Martin should look elsewhere—probably at Nick Tosches's Dino: Living High in the Dirty Business of Dreams (1992)."
A biography of singer-actor Martin that has the pace, diffidence and depth of one of Martin's T.V. variety shows. Read full book review >