Search Results: "Marty Steere"


BOOK REVIEW

Sea of Crises by Marty Steere
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 10, 2012

"A stellar thriller that handily juggles its formulaic elements to achieve near-perfect liftoff."
Debut author Steere shows off his air-and-space mastery in this swashbuckling tale of Apollo 18, the moon landing that never was. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING MARTY by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Smart, honest, and heart-achingly real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A failing peach farm and a mountain of bills force 12-year-old Lorenzo Ventura's mother to consider selling his best friend, Marty—a pig who thinks he is a dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOTALLY TARDY MARTY by Erica S. Perl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"This one can be permanently late. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A young boy who's always late for school learns to be on time and finds a friend along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMARTY MARTY STEPS UP HER GAME by Amy Gutierrez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"Light on actual baseball action, but the empowerment message comes through loud and clear. (author interview) (Fiction. 8-10)"
A bully's threats complicate a young baseball lover's chance to try her hand at announcing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST EVERYBODY FARTS by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"A playful, punchy paean to the pervasive poot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
What's that smell? Oh how rude! But everybody does it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWELVE TERRIBLE THINGS by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Turns the terrible into the terrific. (Picture book. 5-9)"
"I'm warning you. If you turn the page, you are going to see some terrible things." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAME, FORTUNE, AND THE BRAN MUFFINS OF DOOM by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Only for the strong-stomached. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Simon's dream to win a fortune in the school talent show with his two best pals, Munch and Ralph, is thwarted by the band trio's lack of practice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"It's the one for kids who are actually riding; those who will never sit on a horse may find the details dull. (Nonfiction. Everything Horses, 7-12; First Horse and Pony, 5-10)"
While they appear similar at first, two books appeal to different groups of horse-crazy kids. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABBIE HOFFMAN by Marty Jezer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"Hoffman—and a whole doomed, inspired era—emerges vividly in this cleareyed, richly detailed work. (Photographs—24 pages b&w- -not seen.)"
A thoughtful, solidly researched biography of the wildly creative and iconoclastic yippie, portraying Hoffman as a fresh force in American political culture—and as a man ultimately sabotaged by bipolar disorder (manic-depression), which drove him to extremes and probably led to his suicide. Read full book review >