Search Results: "Mary Lee Settle"


BOOK REVIEW

ADDIE by Mary Lee Settle
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"The author captures them in a kind of chorus of life and death that has now set her free."
Addie's granddaughter, the author, is the real subject here, in a delicate exploration of growing up that gives weight to the land, to the economy, to the river, and most of all, of course, to complex family relationships. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEARNING TO FLY by Mary Lee Settle
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"So, is some Settle better than none? A resounding yes."
When she died in 2005, novelist and memoirist Settle (Spanish Recognitions: The Roads to the Present, 2004, etc.) was still working on this affecting memoir of her experiences before, during and after World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Travel-writing in the tradition of Jan Morris and Paul Theroux, recounting sojourns that are never entirely comfortable, never really dangerous, but full of surprises and pleasures."
A graceful memoir of solo travel in post-Franco Spain, bookending the author's equally graceful Turkish Reflections (1991). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHOICES by Mary Lee Settle
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1995

"A counter-myth of the southern belle, this entertaining and fully imagined re-creation would make a great miniseries. (Author tour)"
Wearing its liberal heart on its sleeve, the 13th novel by National Book Award-winner Settle has the same historic sweep and personalized politics as her acclaimed Beulah Quintet (Charley Bland, 1989, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 17, 1991

"But, more, she does for Turkey what only the most accomplished travel writers do: shows why it is a place that must be visited, then makes it seem as if her readers have just come home from there."
Everyone, it seems, wanted a piece of this superior travelogue by the National Book Award-winning author of Blood Tie, The Beulah Quintet, and Celebration—which is why parts of it are slated to run in Traveler, The New York Times Magazine, and Travel and Leisure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE by Tito Perdue
Released: Aug. 15, 1991

"A promising debut."
A first novel that follows an old man, a kind of Old Testament prophet full of books and anger at the age, as he wanders— sometimes violently—through the modern urban world and into his own past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY by Tomie dePaola
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

"The interesting conceit behind these illustrationsto take children's book figures and place them in formal icon-like posesworks well. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A strongly religious book featuring 15 scenes from the life of Mary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY by Hillary Monahan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"An urban legend too light on either gore or camp to be any fun. (Horror. 14-18)"
Four friends face the dire consequences of summoning the infamous Bloody Mary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY by Vladimir Nabokov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1970

"The story is a slight thing at best—a frail straw in the wind."
This is Nabokov's first novel (Mashenka), more properly novella, which is best read for its germinal indications of the later works to follow: particularly the theme of the emigre in transition which will be so triumphantly realized in another habitat, Pnin; and the retrospective refrains of Speak, Memory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARY by Demi
by Demi, illustrated by Demi
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"An Apostolic Blessing from Pope John Paul II reproduced on the back cover emphasizes the volume's Roman Catholic orientation, though Demi's superb paintings and the exemplary design elevate the work above these potential concerns. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
Demi continues her highly regarded series of biographies of spiritual leaders with this reverential, exquisitely illustrated depiction of the life of Mary, the mother of Jesus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2004

"Sure to kick up some biblical dust: a graphic, instructional story unlikely to receive the Church's imprimatur."
A knowledgeable journalist profiles history's most renowned Jewish mother, tracing a life barely touched upon in the gospels. Read full book review >