Search Results: "Mary Street Alinder"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Alinder's sympathetic history captures the excitement and energy of determined artists who invigorated and redefined the art of photography."
In the 1930s, daring young artists invented a distinctive style of photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 24, 1996

"Readers familiar with Adams's autobiographical writings will find little new here. (30 b&w photos, not seen)"
A well-documented but flawed life of one of America's most famous photographers and environmentalists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GHOST OF KARL MARX by Ronan de Calan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"With its companion, great thinkers viewed from unusual angles—but better as refreshers than first introductions. (Philosophy. 12-15) "
Cheerfully bidding readers to chill ("Don't be afraid! It's only a sheet!"), the ghostly Marx rises up to explain the origins of his social philosophy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAGON NAPS by Lynne Bertrand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 1, 1996

"The book includes a counting lesson, of course, but it succeeds primarily as entertainment for other reluctant nappers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
From the team behind One Day, Two Dragons (1992), a jolly nap time book that begins ``ONE day, TWO dragons' mothers said these THREE words: `Time for naps.' '' They are forced upstairs to bed, while all kinds of wonderful things are going on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAINING CATS AND DOGS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"A pleasure. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-10)"
It's hard to know which end's up when it's "raining cats and dogs." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE DAY, TWO DRAGONS by Lynne Bertrand
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1992

"Not as accomplished as Peter Sis's Going Up (1989), but in the same useful vein. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``One day, two dragons caught a cab to Three Bug Street...to get four vaccinations...for measles, mumps, scale rot, and morning breath'' begins this amiable counting-cum-shots-aren't- so-bad book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAUR DRESS UP by Allen L. Sirois
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 1992

"Tall tale or fable, the idea here is slight but developed with amusing logic, while Street's complacently debonair dinosaurs, decked out in garish exaggeration of human attire, are sure to tickle young funny- bones. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Professor Saurus, dinosaur curator at the museum, explains what happened to the ancient giants: they wore clothes, avidly collecting costumes for different activities and competing for the most elegant styles—until they began to quarrel about fashion, tearing each other's garments to shreds and hanging around in their underwear, arguing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FARE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"As she did for Yolen's Raining Cats and Dogs (1993), Street provides pen-and-watercolor spreads in bright, airy colors; her raffish visualizations of such useful concoctions as the 'Giraft' ('periscope necks fore and aft') and the 'Hippopotanoose' are a hoot. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Lear, Carroll, and Seuss, pure nonsense: 16 deftly fashioned rhymes about newly imagined animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 15, 2011

"Though its presentation could be more engaging, the book provides thorough descriptions of a wide range of medical equipment and will likely help readers feel more comfortable about visiting a friend or family member in the ICU."
A thorough guide to the medical devices likely to be encountered at most academic hospitals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2003

"The cat's pajamas! (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
As the subtitle indicates, this is a compendium of familiar and not-so-familiar sayings that have to do with animals, from "we're off like a herd of turtles" to "the tail end." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU'RE PULLING MY LEG! by Pat Street
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2016

"Knee-slappers on every page for tenderfoot readers and writers. (index) (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
From "lamebrain" to "feet of clay," a heaping handful of English idioms, similes, metaphors, and other colorful turns of phrase. Read full book review >