Search Results: "Matthew Walker"


BOOK REVIEW

WHY WE SLEEP by Matthew  Walker
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Though readers seeking dream interpretation will be disappointed, Walker provides a well-organized, highly accessible, up-to-date report on sleep and its crucial role in a healthy life."
Revelations about sleep that illustrate its vital importance to our brains, our bodies, and our lives. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

OH MY GODDESS
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Freya by Matthew Laurence

Cover Story: Photo Op
BFF Charm: Natalie Imbruglia
Swoonworthy Scale: 3
Talky Talk: Modern Theology
Bonus Factor: Gods and Goddesses (+ Diversity)
Factor: Open-Ended
Relationship Status: Agnostic

Cover Story: Photo Op

Although the wings on this cover are more colorful than the DeLand Wings, everything about the image reminds me of the photos I’ve ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MATTHEW DOWD
by Rhett Morgan

A political analyst with ABC news, the co-author of 2006’s Applebee’s America, and the former chief strategist for the Bush-Cheney 2004 presidential campaign, Matthew Dowd has spent the last seven years ruminating on the current state of the country. Through his columns and TV appearances he sharpened his observations about leadership and what is lacking in that leadership, but it ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLORETTE by Anna Walker
Kirkus Star
by Anna Walker, illustrated by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 20, 2018

"Lessons in both gumption and the sacred nature of urban green spaces. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mae desperately misses her garden after moving to the city, with its tall, crowded buildings and narrow streets; her new urban environment offers no "winding paths and leafy hiding spots" or butterfly chases "in the wavy grass." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FUNNY FACE by Anna Walker
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"The delicacy of the bright gouache paintings skews this title to older toddlers, as babies are unlikely to note such details as the thieving dog, but for the right age child, it hits the spot. (Ages 18 mos.-3)"
Beginning with the entirely accurate premise that "[e]veryone can make a face," Walker then rings the changes on the different sorts of faces one might make. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Secondhand Summer by Dan Walker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016

"A picaresque coming-of-age tale with an often appealing hero."
When his father dies suddenly, an adolescent boy faces more than one kind of loss as he navigates the perilous path between childhood and maturity in a new city in Walker's debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY UP, ALFIE! by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Some days parents end up a crumpled heap on the floor—Alfie shows why! (Picture book. 3-6)"
A boisterous crocodile does not want to get dressed in the morning. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SEASON IN SPAIN by Ann Walker
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

"A compelling inducement to cook—or to book a flight to Spain. (Maps, line art.)"
Travelogue, cookbook, wine guide, diners' journal, and a sampling of annual festivals: Region by region and season by season (grape harvest, pruning, bud-break), the Walkers (he: a San Francisco food-and-wine writer; she: a caterer) trace their travels and recall with enthusiasm and style the friendly people, delicious food, memorable encounters, vineyards and cellars and wine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE CHRISTMAS by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"This would be an excellent choice for a toddler's first book about the Christmas season and could also serve as an early reader. (Picture book. 1-6)"
Ollie is a gray-striped animal, perhaps a toy rabbit or zebra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST NUMBERS by Rob Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Designed to prompt discussion, these poorly designed titles will only perplex. (Board book. 2-4)"
This busy board book mixes large numerals, photographs and counting questions to dubious effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOM by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: March 23, 2010

"A companion, I Love My Dad (ISBN: 978-1-4169-8319-4; April 2010), treats Ollie's relationship with his dad with a similarly light touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Ollie B., a gray-and-white striped creature with long ears and floppy legs, tells readers just how he and his mom spend time together. Read full book review >