Search Results: "Maureen Sherry"


BOOK REVIEW

OPENING BELLE by Maureen Sherry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2016

"So much fun, and educational too."
Corporate sexism and the mortgage crisis are a laugh a minute...in this delightful comic novel, at least. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALLS WITHIN WALLS by Maureen Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 14, 2010

"A delicious multilayered romp. (Magical adventure. 8-12)"
Myriad mysteries and long-lost treasure await the Smithfork children when they move from Brooklyn into an eccentric, historic apartment on the Upper East Side of New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHERRY GOES SANE by Sherry M. Joiner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 21, 2013

"An affecting, honest memoir useful to anyone trying to understand life with psychosis."
In this debut memoir, a woman describes how she came to understand, treat and live successfully with her mental illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEAN, MEAN MAUREEN GREEN by Judy Cox

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Monster and dino lovers alike will enjoy the foolishness. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 5-9)"
Yeti Blizz and his cryptid cronies are back for more adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMY SNEAKERS VS. THE ROBO-RATS by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2017

"A madcap series opener with a wink or two at some topical themes. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 6-8)"
When an evil toymaker threatens to release a fleet of robot pigeon spy drones, it's up to urban raccoon Remy to organize and lead the resistance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ACORNS EVERYWHERE! by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A light forest romp. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Sherry forgoes his signature squid, introduced in I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007), for an outrageous squirrel and its acorn obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"A gatefold and a page of stickers further enhance this whale of a debut. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Waves of exuberance flow out of this crowd-pleaser, in which a squid proudly points out how much bigger it is than any shrimp, clam, octopus or fish in the neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAD OF SPRING  by Sherry  Knowlton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 22, 2017

"Using current and recent news stories about fracking and Three Mile Island to make a case for her own causes, Knowlton hangs it all on a middling mystery/thriller/romance with a complex heroine."
A lawyer who yearns for the quiet life proves a magnet for murder. Read full book review >