Search Results: "Max Brooks"


BOOK REVIEW

WORLD WAR Z by Max Brooks
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"A literate, ironic, strangely tasty treat for fans of 28 Days Later, Dawn of the Dead, The Last Man on Earth and other treasures of the zombie/counterzombie genre."
An "oral history" of the global war the evil brain-chewers came within a hair of winning. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POLAR OPPOSITES by Erik Brooks
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"While the anthropomorphized pair has nothing in common with their real counterparts apart from location, the light story makes this a refreshing change from traditional opposite books. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Penpals Alex Polar Bear and Zina Penguin are polar opposites, living on opposite sides of the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GET INTO ART by Susie Brooks
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 20, 2013

"When enjoyed by adults and kids together, this book will deliver a pleasing, fresh mix of animal-art-inspired projects utilizing varying media and techniques. (table of contents, glossary, art materials checklist, index) (Nonfiction. 7-12)"
Families may want to ride the DIY wave with this attractive British import, which publishes simultaneously with the similarly conceived Get into Art: People (2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUMAN BODY LIFT-THE-FLAP by Susie Brooks
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"Still, anatomy books for this age are scarce, and this one is relatively sturdy and amusing to browse, perhaps compensating for its other issues. (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
A lift-the-flap board book briefly explores the anatomy and physiology of the human body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROG IN WINTER by Max Velthuijs
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1993

"A charming model of friendly accommodation to differences, fine for group sharing or independent reading. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The appealingly naive frog-person who debuted in Frog in Love (1989) is astonished, one morning, to find the world white and the river frozen (```I won't be able to wash,' he thought, shocked''). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROG AND THE BIRDSONG by Max Velthuijs
ANIMALS
Released: April 24, 1991

"The quiet blend of curiosity, respect, and joy in Velthuijs's text is enhanced by the simplicity of his bright, beautifully designed art. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The hero of Frog in Love (1989) deals with another rite of passage after he finds a dead bird. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEAR WITH ME by Max Kornell
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2011

"Nevertheless, a sweet and refreshing spin on the old new-sibling plot. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Owen's world is perfect until his parents decide to add a bear to their family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAWN by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Even when Brooks is not at his best, however, he still produces compelling fiction that will leave teens clamoring for his previous titles. (Mystery. YA)"
Dawn Bundy wants to kill God. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROAD OF THE DEAD by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"Fans of Brooks's Martyn Pig, Kissing the Rain, Candy and Lucas, won't be disappointed by this thrilling, gritty story and it's memorable, heart-breaking characters. (Fiction. YA)"
"When the Dead Man got Rachel I was sitting in the back of a wrecked Mercedes wondering if the rain was going to stop." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEING WITH HENRY by Martha Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2000

"Brooks deals with universal adolescent themes of home, self, and romance with a fresh hand, creating a memorable story that begs repeating. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Born from the short story `The Kindness of Strangers` in her collection Traveling on into the Light and Other Stories (1994) Brooks builds a delicately tuned novel in three parts that pays homage to Capote in its treatment of characters, but stands strongly on its own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUE CONFESSIONS OF A HEARTLESS GIRL by Martha Brooks
FICTION
Released: March 11, 2003

"She seems to know the place and people intimately and, through them, she shares her vision of the richness of ordinary life in all its pain and glory. (Fiction. YA)"
Set during ten days in July, this beautifully written story explores the effect of a stranger on a small town. Read full book review >