Search Results: "Meg Medina"


BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 12, 2013

"Far more than just a problem novel, this book sheds light on a serious issue without ever losing sight of its craft. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A nuanced, heart-wrenching and ultimately empowering story about bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MANGO, ABUELA, AND ME by Meg Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"This warm family story is a splendid showcase for the combined talents of Medina, a Pura Belpré award winner, and Dominguez, an honoree. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Abuela is coming to stay with Mia and her parents. But how will they communicate if Mia speaks little Spanish and Abuela, little English? Could it be that a parrot named Mango is the solution? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MILAGROS by Meg Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"The novel's colorful imagery cannot rescue it from its lack of a strong fantasy structure. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Can magic manta rays protect Milagros and send her all the way north from her Caribbean home to the coast of Maine? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 13, 2012

"A worthy effort weakened by a rushed conclusion. (Magical realism. 14-18)"
Laden with the hopes and fears of her village, a 16-year-old girl casts aside her appointed calling to discover her true destiny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN BABY BURN by Meg Medina
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 8, 2016

"An important story of one of New York City's most dangerous times. (Historical fiction. 13-18)"
A Cuban-American girl comes of age in Flushing, Queens, in 1977, against the backdrop of the Son of Sam murder spree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TÍA ISA WANTS A CAR by Meg Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2011

"A pleasant tale of determination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Tía Isa dreams of buying a big car, green like the ocean that surrounds the island that she, her brother Andrés and their niece left to move to the United States. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES OF 2016 - PART ONE
by Leila Roy

The end of the year approacheth, and I have so very great books to share with you!

This year, I’m picking my favorite book of each month—my favorite book that I read in each month, not necessarily published in that month (or even in 2016!)—as well as mentioning a few other bonus books here and there.

Let’s dive right ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

1 BIG SALAD by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"From layout to text to artwork, this counting book takes 'playing with your food' to a new level. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Photographs of salad ingredients, embellished with details done in black ink, create whimsical arrays from one through 10. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUANA AND LUCAS by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"The real gift of this book comes from presenting a different point of reference to American children who hear only stories of poverty and need coming out of South America. (Fiction. 5-9)"
Meet Juana, a lively and opinionated grade school girl growing up in Bogotá, Colombia. She strongly dislikes wearing her hot and itchy school uniform but even more having to learn to speak English: "Why not just speak in Spanish? It is SO much easier!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC PASTA by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Younger kids are not likely to recognize many of the lesser-known types of pasta, but what a toothsome way to have fun with them. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Get your forks ready—this salute to pasta via the ABCs is truly entertaining, as the subtitle states. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >