Search Results: "Meredith LeBard"


BOOK REVIEW

THE COMING WAR WITH JAPAN by George Friedman
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1991

"The test has a wealth of tabular material and mapsnot seen."
Maverick economist Ravi Batra now has geostrategic counterparts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

7 Secrets of Happiness Your Brain Doesn't Want You to Know by Kevin Meredith
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 20, 2012

"An unusual, easy-to-follow examination of some perplexing aspects of human behavior."
In his debut self-help book, Meredith offers suggestions for dealing with the human brain's evolutionary heritage in order to enhance happiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SINGLES by Meredith Goldstein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 24, 2012

"Charming wedding farce with a bit of depth."
Five unmarried guests manage to come together—and fall apart—during an upscale wedding at a Maryland country club. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POSED FOR MURDER by Meredith Cole
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 17, 2009

"Cole's fiction debut, winner of the St. Martin's Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition, is amiable, well-plotted and just a bit stiff."
Who's stalking the aspiring photographer and knocking off her models? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAVOURITE by Meredith Daneman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 6, 1994

In her third book, British novelist Daneman (A Chance to Sit Down, 1972) plays erotic geometry with the oedipal triangle—but it all seems flat as a plane in the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"An important story well told, featuring the drama and characters needed to make this a candidate for film adaptation."
A dramatic medical history that reveals the progress and the stumbles, the personalities and the rivalries, in the race to find a vaccine for rubella, or German measles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2011

"The author does a superb job of describing the nuts-and-bolts of field research, the meaning of the often headline-producing findings and the ever-changing variety of species who split off from the common ancestors of chimpanzees and hominids."
An appealing account of human evolution and the fiercely competitive anthropologists who are unearthing our ancestors' remains and arguing over what they mean. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KISS CRUSH COLLIDE by Christina Meredith
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Although the most intriguing thread of the book is familial, this tame G-rated story will appeal largely to girls who enjoy romances. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
The summer before her senior year of high school, a girl who seemingly has it all—money, looks, smarts and social position—falls for a dazzlingly handsome but mildly unsuitable boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Gen-Xers will mo doubt like this book and shake their heads at the ignorance of critics who find it simply self-indulgent."
Generation X is in deep trouble if this is the best case they can make for themselves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 20, 2011

"A compelling, beautifully written novel that is an intimate portrayal of friendship and redemption."
Meredith's coming-of-age novel tells the story of a young woman who, in the wake of her mother's death, befriends a couple of small town outsiders with whom she forms an important bond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 5, 2005

"Sharp-edged, politically astute and pessimistic: a good complement to John Reader's Africa: A Biography of the Continent (1999)."
Africa has been largely free for half a century, and the resources many of its nations contain are ever more precious. Yet, writes long-time Africa observer Meredith (Elephant Destiny: Biography of an Endangered Species in Africa, 2003, etc.), "Africa's prospects are bleaker than ever before." Read full book review >