Search Results: "Meredith Maran"


BOOK REVIEW

WHY WE WRITE by Meredith Maran
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 29, 2013

"A fun, enlightening read for writers and book lovers alike."
A rich, informative essay collection based on interviews with 20 prominent authors seeking to answer the question: "Why do writers write?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"Candid revelations for readers; useful advice and encouragement for aspiring writers."
Memoirists reflect on why and how to write "a true-life tale." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"A passionate and intelligent account."
A lively, dramatic, and provocative story of one writer's sojourn into one of our nation's most diverse public high schools. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NEW OLD ME by Meredith Maran
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 14, 2017

"A spirited and moving memoir about how 'it's never too late to try something new.'"
An essayist and nonfiction writer's account of how she was forced to start over after age 60. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IT'S LIKE TO LIVE NOW by Meredith Maran
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 1995

"Maran is engaging, but she's not self-critical enough, as if unaware that there's nothing particularly unusual these days about Bay Area lesbian mothers who eat tofu, ride bicycles, and participate in Zen meditation groups."
The late Jerry Rubin notwithstanding, not all '60s survivors sold out to the junk-bond culture of the '80s when the first gray hair sprouted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1997

"Highly readable and relevant—though superficial at points."
Essays from a still idealistic baby boomer on the legacies of feminism—and on battles yet to be won. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MEREDITH WADMAN
by Alexia Nader

Meredith Wadman found the story that would become her first book The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease in a reader letter in a 2012 edition of Science magazine. In response to a policy forum about whether tissue donors should be compensated for their contribution to medical research, prompted by Rebecca Skloot’s book The Immortal ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KISS CRUSH COLLIDE by Christina Meredith
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Although the most intriguing thread of the book is familial, this tame G-rated story will appeal largely to girls who enjoy romances. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
The summer before her senior year of high school, a girl who seemingly has it all—money, looks, smarts and social position—falls for a dazzlingly handsome but mildly unsuitable boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Gen-Xers will mo doubt like this book and shake their heads at the ignorance of critics who find it simply self-indulgent."
Generation X is in deep trouble if this is the best case they can make for themselves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLMOUTH by Meredith Anthony
FICTION & LITERATURE

"An astute protagonist and her maybe-homicidal partner propel a conventional albeit diverting mystery."
In Anthony's (co-author: Ladykiller, 2010) thriller, a woman who suspects her husband of adultery soon fears that he may be guilty of much worse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 5, 2005

"Sharp-edged, politically astute and pessimistic: a good complement to John Reader's Africa: A Biography of the Continent (1999)."
Africa has been largely free for half a century, and the resources many of its nations contain are ever more precious. Yet, writes long-time Africa observer Meredith (Elephant Destiny: Biography of an Endangered Species in Africa, 2003, etc.), "Africa's prospects are bleaker than ever before." Read full book review >