Search Results: "Meredith Zeitlin"


BOOK REVIEW

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2012

"An undemanding and enjoyable diversion. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Another goofy, sweet teenage girl pratfalls through her first year of high school in this winsome, if predictable debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POSED FOR MURDER by Meredith Cole
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 17, 2009

"Cole's fiction debut, winner of the St. Martin's Minotaur/Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition, is amiable, well-plotted and just a bit stiff."
Who's stalking the aspiring photographer and knocking off her models? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2011

"The author does a superb job of describing the nuts-and-bolts of field research, the meaning of the often headline-producing findings and the ever-changing variety of species who split off from the common ancestors of chimpanzees and hominids."
An appealing account of human evolution and the fiercely competitive anthropologists who are unearthing our ancestors' remains and arguing over what they mean. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"An important story well told, featuring the drama and characters needed to make this a candidate for film adaptation."
A dramatic medical history that reveals the progress and the stumbles, the personalities and the rivalries, in the race to find a vaccine for rubella, or German measles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAVOURITE by Meredith Daneman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 6, 1994

In her third book, British novelist Daneman (A Chance to Sit Down, 1972) plays erotic geometry with the oedipal triangle—but it all seems flat as a plane in the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

7 Secrets of Happiness Your Brain Doesn't Want You to Know by Kevin Meredith
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 20, 2012

"An unusual, easy-to-follow examination of some perplexing aspects of human behavior."
In his debut self-help book, Meredith offers suggestions for dealing with the human brain's evolutionary heritage in order to enhance happiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SINGLES by Meredith Goldstein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 24, 2012

"Charming wedding farce with a bit of depth."
Five unmarried guests manage to come together—and fall apart—during an upscale wedding at a Maryland country club. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"A sometimes rambling but more often incisive memoir from a retired top-rank anesthesiologist looking back on a long career."
First-time author and retired anesthesiologist Zeitlin elucidates the hands-on business of delivering sweet oblivion to surgical patients with as little risk as possible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2000

"The result is a thought-provoking companion to Virginia Hamilton's more story-oriented In the Beginning (1988). (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 11-14)"
"One person's religion is often another's mythology," writes the author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVER STORY by Meredith Hooper
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2000

"Debby Atwell's River, 1999), just appreciation for the river's beauty and being. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-9)"
Trickling, bubbling, swirling, rushing, a river flows down from its mountain beginnings, past peaceful country and bustling city on its way to the sea. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU KEEP A SECRET? by P.J. Petersen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1997

"Nevertheless, his tone is gentle throughout, and the novel is one that could prompt good discussions. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 7-10)"
A lighthearted tale about a boy intent on becoming trustworthy, from the author of White Water (p. 805). Read full book review >