Search Results: "Michael Holley"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"A deeply reported, thoroughly engaging look at what it takes to succeed in the NFL—and a perfect complement to the NFL Network's compelling miniseries Bill Belichick: A Football Life."
A longtime Patriots chronicler goes inside the brain trust of the NFL's most successful team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPI by David Ortiz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 16, 2017

"A one-of-a-kind slugger keeps his uniform clean in this chronicle of his days in baseball."
The ups and downs of a legendary baseball career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1997

"The bond is marked by ambivalence, conflict, suffering—and a daughter's impressive commitment to staying connected to, and caring for, a mother whom she has in some sense lost."
The utterly absorbing story of a woman's struggle to care for her mentally ill mother, tracing the ravages of mental illness on both the sufferer and her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2005

"As golden as its subject."
Fans of Sue Hubbell and Diane Ackerman will take to this like—well, bees to honey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMES DEAN by Val Holley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 30, 1995

"A biography by the numbers that never quite adds up. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
The author of this quotidian, excessively anecdotal life of James Dean has done a lot of research, but too rarely does he conjoin it with any real understanding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUNCAN, SON OF SAGIRA by E.C. Holley
Released: May 28, 2012

"Cat and magic fans, unite!"
The cats are not what they seem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT FIRST I HOPE FOR RESCUE by Holley Rubinsky
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1998

"Verbal energy, narrative drive, high pace, an eye hungry for detail—all show a writer waiting at the gate for when she finds her true subjects."
Canadian Rubinsky's debut consists of five longish stories on trendy topics—child abuse, bulimia, self abuse, etc.—that still don't manage to smother entirely the robust natural energies of her writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 7, 2013

"An excellent, easy-to-read introduction to modern economic thinking."
A series of lighthearted essays exploring how holidays reflect our economic system and society. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MICHAEL NESMITH
by Nick A. Zaino III

Michael Nesmith’s first big job in the music industry didn’t make much sense to him. He was hired—along with Davy Jones, Micky Dolenz, and Peter Tork—to be part of a rock and roll band on television called the Monkees. It would change his life in ways he couldn’t quite comprehend. He addresses this in his new memoir, Infinite Tuesday: An ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MICHAEL FRANK
by Marjorie Baumgarten

Perhaps you recognize the names of Irving Ravetch and Harriet Frank Jr. A married couple, they were Hollywood screenwriters responsible for authoring such Oscar-nominated classics as Hud and Norma Rae. Active from the late Forties through the mid-Eighties, the collaborators built a reputation for quality scripts based on their eight films with maverick filmmaker Martin Ritt and their screen adaptations ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

The Truth The Whole Truth Nothing but the Truth by Michael
NON-FICTION
Released: May 12, 2011

"Sprightly throughout, this volume portrays a belief system that is vehement though rarely novel."
A debut book offers a no-nonsense guide to biblical teachings, with a particular emphasis on the truth found in the Bible itself. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MICHAEL TWITTY
by Gregory McNamee

Recipes, like people, have DNA. It may take some ferreting out, some hard kitchen testing, some documentary research, and some more tasting and adjusting, but eventually that yellowed slip of paper tucked into grandmom’s copy of Joy of Cooking will yield its ancestry, reveal its origins through the patina of the past, and show how tastes and ingredients have changed ...


Read the full post >