Search Results: "Michael Savage"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 3, 2012

"Fans of Savage's radio program should stick to the genuine article; opponents of President Obama should turn to someone whose sympathies are not so mercenary and self-serving."
One of talk radio's most inflammatory voices fires a damp squib at the president, the liberal media and society in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TIME FOR WAR by Michael Savage
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"Who says radio hosts are all talk? In Savage's cool-tempered thriller, hero Jack Hatfield uncovers a Chinese plot and saves the nation."
Conservative radio host turned man of action Jack Hatfield, still fuming over having had his popular tell-it-like-it-is radio show dropped after liberals branded him as an extremist, goes up against traitorous American billionaires and their government partners who have sold game-changing systems-disabling technology to the Chinese. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABUSE OF POWER by Michael Savage
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Ten years after 9/11, the tropes of terrorism thrillers wear thin. For fans of Fox News, Savage's right-wing POV (but little else) may lend some distinction."
Routine thriller follows a journalist who elects to save the United States from terrorists—and from itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE'S WALRUS? by Stephen  Savage
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Refreshing, captivating, elegant and witty. (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's another slow day at the zoo—not. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE TUG by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Though this cute-but-mighty tug's strengths are oddly undercut by the syrupy gear-switch at the end, the bright, attractive pictures will appeal to boat-loving toddlers. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Graphically spiffy and textually brief, this exploration of an anthropomorphic harbor tugboat's working role tacks on a maudlin shtick in the final quarter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LASER MOOSE AND RABBIT BOY by Doug Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"With rampant whimsy and cheerful silliness, expect this to hit funny bones with laser accuracy. (Graphic science fiction. 7-11)"
A moose that can shoot laser beams out his eyes—what could be better? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPERTRUCK by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A serious treat for truck lovers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
When a blizzard stops the mighty trucks of the city from working, it's Supertruck to the rescue! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE'S WALRUS? AND PENGUIN? by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"Clever, cheeky, and endearing—a wordless achievement. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Walrus escapes again, this time with pal Penguin, but their day on the town takes an unexpected turn for the fun-loving pinniped of Where's Walrus? (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE PLANE LEARNS TO WRITE by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 6, 2017

"A well-designed winner for ambitious little pilots. (Picture book. 3-5)"
At flight school, Little Plane learns skywriting by practicing "arcs, dives, and loopity-loops." But the last present a particular problem for him, as the circling maneuver makes him dizzy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 1, 2001

"Skip it. (glossary, index, source notes, bibliography of books, videos, and Web sites) (Nonfiction. 9-11)"
A disjointed scrapbook of anecdotes and journal entries, strung together with archival photos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEMONS by Melissa Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2017

"A joyous celebration of cryptozoology, friendship, family love, and coping with loss. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
"My mom always says I can take any lemons that life gives me and make lemonade," proclaims 10-year-old Lemonade Liberty Witt—"Lem" for short. Read full book review >