Search Results: "Michael Savage"


BOOK REVIEW

A TIME FOR WAR by Michael Savage
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"Who says radio hosts are all talk? In Savage's cool-tempered thriller, hero Jack Hatfield uncovers a Chinese plot and saves the nation."
Conservative radio host turned man of action Jack Hatfield, still fuming over having had his popular tell-it-like-it-is radio show dropped after liberals branded him as an extremist, goes up against traitorous American billionaires and their government partners who have sold game-changing systems-disabling technology to the Chinese. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 3, 2012

"Fans of Savage's radio program should stick to the genuine article; opponents of President Obama should turn to someone whose sympathies are not so mercenary and self-serving."
One of talk radio's most inflammatory voices fires a damp squib at the president, the liberal media and society in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABUSE OF POWER by Michael Savage
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Ten years after 9/11, the tropes of terrorism thrillers wear thin. For fans of Fox News, Savage's right-wing POV (but little else) may lend some distinction."
Routine thriller follows a journalist who elects to save the United States from terrorists—and from itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE'S WALRUS? by Stephen  Savage
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Refreshing, captivating, elegant and witty. (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's another slow day at the zoo—not. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE TUG by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Though this cute-but-mighty tug's strengths are oddly undercut by the syrupy gear-switch at the end, the bright, attractive pictures will appeal to boat-loving toddlers. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Graphically spiffy and textually brief, this exploration of an anthropomorphic harbor tugboat's working role tacks on a maudlin shtick in the final quarter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LASER MOOSE AND RABBIT BOY by Doug Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"With rampant whimsy and cheerful silliness, expect this to hit funny bones with laser accuracy. (Graphic science fiction. 7-11)"
A moose that can shoot laser beams out his eyes—what could be better? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN ORANGE PUMPKINS by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"A spooky good time. (Board book. 1-3)"
Pumpkins are picked up one by one in a spooky board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN ORANGE PUMPKINS by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2013

"Although the landscapes Savage creates are highly stylized, they have a softness and gentle humor that will capture the imaginations of young children and add to their anticipation. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In this strong graphic treatment of a traditional theme, 10 Halloween pumpkins are spirited away or destroyed one by one by various seasonally appropriate, sometimes-scary entities: a scarecrow, a mummy, a bolt of lightning, a hungry ghost, alligators in a pond, pirates ("Arrr!"), an owl, a witch and a spider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MIXED-UP TRUCK by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 5, 2016

"A good reminder for adults that giving instructions is an art and that mistakes will be made from time to time (and that white powder not intended for small mixers should be put out of reach). (Picture book. 18 mos.-3)"
A brightly striped cement mixer tries to do the job right on its first day, with mixed results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPERTRUCK by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A serious treat for truck lovers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
When a blizzard stops the mighty trucks of the city from working, it's Supertruck to the rescue! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE'S WALRUS? AND PENGUIN? by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"Clever, cheeky, and endearing—a wordless achievement. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Walrus escapes again, this time with pal Penguin, but their day on the town takes an unexpected turn for the fun-loving pinniped of Where's Walrus? (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE PLANE LEARNS TO WRITE by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 6, 2017

"A well-designed winner for ambitious little pilots. (Picture book. 3-5)"
At flight school, Little Plane learns skywriting by practicing "arcs, dives, and loopity-loops." But the last present a particular problem for him, as the circling maneuver makes him dizzy. Read full book review >