Search Results: "Michael Saylor"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 26, 2012

"Saylor makes a strong case for the wonder and value of mobile computing, though it leaves a chill in the air."
Entrepreneur and technology expert Saylor investigates the stunning new world of smartphones and tablets and likes what he sees. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAVE YOU SEEN DAWN? by Steven Saylor
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Taut narrative, some good characters, and a well-drawn setting: an enjoyable and suspenseful read."
The author of the popular tales of Roman sleuth Gordianus the Finder (A Mist of Prophecies, p. 458) now turns to Texas, where a teenaged girl's disappearance casts suspicion on just about everyone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WRATH OF THE FURIES by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"Religious war, ethnic cleansing—everything new is old again in the era of swords, togas, and defeated generals executed by being forced to swallow molten gold."
In Saylor's (Raiders of the Nile, 2014, etc.) newest novel of the ancient world, Mithridates, who styles himself Shahansha—King of Kings—has conquered Roman colonies from the Euxine Sea to Persia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MURDER ON THE APPIAN WAY by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 1996

"Maybe some bones should just be let lie."
It's 52 B.C.: an evil time for Rome. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST SEEN IN MASSILLIA by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"In this exemplary eighth installment, Saylor links the case at hand to his larger concerns, the ongoing domestic saga of Gordianus' family and the fate of Rome, with matchless elegance."
Like the Hatfields and the McCoys, the generals fighting over control of Rome have left a legacy of unending strife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRIUMPH OF CAESAR by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 13, 2008

"Gordianus doesn't distinguish himself as a detective, and readers possessed of historical hindsight will easily eliminate most of the high-profile suspects. Still, no contemporary novelist approaches Saylor's continued ability to bring ancient Rome to life."
Suspecting a plot against Julius Caesar, his wife Calpurnia calls on Gordianus the Finder to head it off. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MIST OF PROPHECIES by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"Newcomers to the series are advised to start, for example, with Last Seen in Massilia (2000)."
Like her ill-fated namesake who prophesied the fall of Troy and her own death, the Roman seer who called herself Cassandra profited little from her gift of second sight, reflects Gordianus the Finder as the meager funeral procession he's organized approaches her cremation site. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TWIST AT THE END by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 2000

"A conscientious historical reconstruction that still packs less punch than any number of its literary hero's own ten-page anecdotes."
And now for something completely American from the author of the highly successful tales of Roman sleuth Gordianus the Finder (Rubicon, 1999, etc.): a ponderous tale based on a real-life Texas murder case. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 12, 1997

"All the others could well follow."
It's no wonder Gordianus the Finder solves so many of these nine cases in a single flash of insight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JUDGMENT OF CAESAR by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 23, 2004

"Expert mystery-mongering closely woven into a pageant featuring the most star-studded cast imaginable. Fans of the historical mystery couldn't do better."
Traveling to Alexandria in 48 b.c. in hope of curing his Egyptian wife's illness, Gordianus the Finder learns once more that "these days, no place is safer than any other." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAIDERS OF THE NILE by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of James Lee Burke or Lee Child will enjoy a two-millennium time shift to tour the dark corners of ancient Egypt."
Saylor's (The Seven Wonders, 2012, etc.) latest historical adventure chronicles young Gordianus' adventures as he gets trapped in a scheme to loot Alexander the Great's sarcophagus. Read full book review >