Search Results: "Michael-Paul Terranova"


BOOK REVIEW


"Environmentalists, fantasy-lovers and unselfconscious academics will find much to love here."
Equal parts sprawling fantasy and deftly observed futurist fiction, Lewis' debut novel will appeal to fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Michael Crichton and William Gibson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPLOTCH: THE CENTER by Michael-Paul  Terranova
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 18, 2011

"Sketchy but oddly effective. (iPad storybook app. 6-8, adult)"
A minimalist fable featuring an inkblot, a blank page and (aside from page "turns") a single animated effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SOUNDS WE MAKE by Curious Circus
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 29, 2012

"A no-frills, sound-effects-driven 'story' that has a decent rhythm, reliable interactive elements, simple navigation and a splash of age-appropriate vulgarity thrown in for good measure. (iPad storybook app. 3-6)"
A basic exploration of assorted bodily sounds, including—and perhaps featuring—those considered "rude." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAX'S TEMPER TURNAROUND by Michael-Paul  Terranova
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2011

"Readers will be G-LA-D that they accompanied Max on his barely restrained rampage and subsequent cool down. (iPad storybook app. 2-6)"
A well-designed and humorous concept book shines with just a few well-chosen effects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICHAEL by Henry Flesh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Amen."
Flesh's X-rated debut novel, the Lambda Award-winning Massage (1999), told of life at the bottom of Manhattan's gay subculture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by A.N. Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

In a worthy companion volume to his Jesus: A Life (1992), novelist-biographer Wilson (A Watch in the Night, 1996, etc.) adeptly recreates the milieu of Christianity's greatest interpreter and missionary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAUL by Jerome Murphy-O'Connor
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 1996

"Acts, though historically imprecise, makes for a much better story."
A dry historical tome that would be more aptly titled ``Paul: A Cultural History.'' The difficulties of doing ancient biography are compounded when one of the two major sources available is believed to be historically unreliable and corrupt. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paul by Gesner Noel
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2016

"An excellent single-volume introduction to Christianity's first theologian."
A brief but thorough account of St. Paul's life and an analysis of its significance in the subsequent development of Christianity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICHAEL JORDAN by Roland Lazenby
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 6, 2014

"Studded with insights but unnecessarily long—though, given the continued aura of Jordan, likely to sell well."
An exhaustive—and exhausting—biography of the greatest player in NBA history. Read full book review >