Search Results: "Michael-Paul Terranova"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SOUNDS WE MAKE by Curious Circus
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 29, 2012

"A no-frills, sound-effects-driven 'story' that has a decent rhythm, reliable interactive elements, simple navigation and a splash of age-appropriate vulgarity thrown in for good measure. (iPad storybook app. 3-6)"
A basic exploration of assorted bodily sounds, including—and perhaps featuring—those considered "rude." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAX'S TEMPER TURNAROUND by Michael-Paul  Terranova
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2011

"Readers will be G-LA-D that they accompanied Max on his barely restrained rampage and subsequent cool down. (iPad storybook app. 2-6)"
A well-designed and humorous concept book shines with just a few well-chosen effects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPLOTCH: THE CENTER by Michael-Paul  Terranova
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 18, 2011

"Sketchy but oddly effective. (iPad storybook app. 6-8, adult)"
A minimalist fable featuring an inkblot, a blank page and (aside from page "turns") a single animated effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT THE END OF MEADOW STREET by Michael Paul
Released: April 7, 2014

"An imperfect novel by a new talent that should please middle-grade readers."
In Paul's middle-grade debut, a crew of tough-talking 12-year-olds fake their way through their final summer before adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUNCH MUNCH DINOSAUR LUNCH! by Paul Bright
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2010

"Truly, a big brother worth the 'wuv.' (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little sisters can be such a pain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Symmetry of Snowflakes by Paul Michael Peters
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A novel with some nice moments that offers an effective examination of complicated family ties despite its somewhat whiny hero."
In Peters' (Peter in Flight, 2013) novel, a young man on the brink of making it big must sort out his complicated family and personal situations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2008

"Intriguing case histories, related with a personal passion that sets Mason's book apart from Oliver Sacks's cooler writings on the subject."
Dispassionate neuroscience meets fierce advocacy in this heartbreaking but hopeful look at the little-understood world of those who suffer traumatic brain injuries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRICK OR TREAT? by Bill Martin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"The story itself, though, is a somewhat confusing gimmick that may defy comprehension by primary-aged readers and will not interest most of the older readers, who will see through its contrived story line and all-too-convenient conclusion. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Readers will revel in the alliterative names and twisted phrases but the enjoyment will be superficial unless they can figure out that the "ceanut pups" are the "peanut cups," and other such treats are turned "wackbards" by Merlin's spell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIS GOOD FRIENDS by Paul Michael Buck
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 20, 2012

"A breezy, unpolished thriller with a digestible plot and a likable protagonist."
A struggling writer gets caught up in crime in this New York City-based thriller from debut author Buck. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PAUL AUSTER
by J.W. Bonner

We live our lives mostly in the moment, but also attendant to the question of what if?— what if we had lived in that town rather than the one I know? what if my father (or mother) had died? what if my parents had divorced? what if I had attended school X rather than school Y? what if I ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

PAMELA PAUL
by Claiborne Smith

Readers who know Pamela Paul’s books before she became the editor of the New York Times Book Review know that they are serious works of nonfiction: The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony (2002), Pornified: How Pornography Is Damaging Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families (2005), and Parenting, Inc.: How the Billion-Dollar Baby Business Has Changed the Way ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"The occasionally florid writing notwithstanding, the book provides well-crafted regional recipes and edifying passages about the surveyed chiles."
Three self-described "gastronauts" plumb climate change through the piquant prism of chile peppers. Read full book review >