Search Results: "Mickey Clement"


BOOK REVIEW

THE IRISH PRINCESS by Mickey Clement
Released: March 23, 1994

"Nothing new or rivetingly insightful, but a pleasingly told tale that touches the heart."
A conventional Irish-American first novel with all expected elements—close-knit families, suffocating religiosity, and mordant fatalism—that nonetheless movingly celebrates love and true grit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWIMMING, SWIMMING by Gary Clement
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2015

"Friendship and a pool: the perfect summer combination, here captured to a T. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A quartet of friends—three boys and one girl—revel in the watery joys afforded by the local public pool. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRIVE by Nathan Clement
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Indeed, in its strong, steady lines and depiction of a deeply pastoral Midwest, this offering could well be seen as the Great American Truck Book. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Striking graphics accompany a child's narration of a truck-driving dad's day at work, from his departure before dawn to his arrival home at the end of the day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER by Blaize Clement
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 9, 2006

"An entertaining debut. Dixie is a complex, well-conceived character and the plot fast-moving and believable."
Sarasota, Fla., is a peaceful spot for a pet sitter until her job leads to murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWENTY QUESTIONS by Alison Clement
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 11, 2006

"Although Clement (Pretty Is as Pretty Does, 2001) can get preachy about the oppressed poor and the evils of war, she wrestles eloquently with some meaty issues: lies, responsibility, chance."
An Oregon woman's life unravels as she grapples with the possibility that another woman was murdered because she was not. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

"Wit and nostalgia mitigate, but don't entirely compensate for, a weak story arc and lack of emotional engagement."
Endearing but ultimately disappointing inquiry into collegiate a cappella via three beloved groups. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIPTIDE by Mickey Friedman
Released: Feb. 17, 1994

"Friedman (A Temporary Ghost, 1987, etc.) provides an engaging heroine, an offbeat supporting cast, and just enough mystery to keep them occupied."
Laid off from her New York job, plucky artist Isabel Anders allows herself to be drawn back to Florida to take care of her disoriented aunt Merriam, who'd disinherited her after she eloped as a teenager. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"Jessica Hagedorn, Fay Weldon, Jane Smiley, Jayne Anne Phillips, Terry Tempest Williams, and Shirley Abbott are among the others whom Pearlman speaks to in this engaging, informative collection."
Though described as ``twenty interviews,'' what Pearlman (ed., American Women Writing Fiction, 1989, etc.) really gives us here is not Q&A talks but something more: brief and telling profiles of 20 women writers, with extensive conversational quotes from the authors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 21, 2011

"Finn's story is one of survival—and a compelling one at that—yet he compartmentalizes the experience as one of inevitable darkness wherein its recounting sheds only brief moments of light.
"
In a tightly constructed, well-paced memoir that sits squarely in the tradition of Dickens and Frank McCourt, Finn recounts the brutal experience of his confinement in Ireland's Letterfrack Industrial School, an institution for juvenile delinquents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FASHION TO KILL by Mickey Wyte
Released: April 11, 2012

"A gripping, satisfying whodunit."
When Jack Centaur's niece makes her modeling debut in a crime scene photo, he goes in search of her murderer in Wyte's gritty debut mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING’S DOWN THERE by Mickey Spillane
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"If Hammer's last case, Black Alley (1996), was an exercise in shamus nostalgia, this yarn regresses even further to the Boy's Own Adventure period, complete with the girl in the pink bikini the hero wouldn't dream of seducing."
What a difference a half-century makes. The legendary hard-boiled master's latest seafaring adventure, less Mike Hammer than Ernest Hemingway, packs all the wallop of a newborn kitten. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN OLD MEN AND A MOUSE by Cary Fagan
ANIMALS
Released: March 13, 2007

"So share it, already. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The discovery of a mouse in the synagogue signals a break from the routine for the ten old men who gather there every night. Read full book review >