Search Results: "Mickey Edwards"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 27, 2012

"A spirited, well-constructed argument for reform that does not shy away from comprehensive solutions."
A 16-year veteran of Congress examines why political partisanship has become so dysfunctional. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 21, 2011

"Finn's story is one of survival—and a compelling one at that—yet he compartmentalizes the experience as one of inevitable darkness wherein its recounting sheds only brief moments of light.
"
In a tightly constructed, well-paced memoir that sits squarely in the tradition of Dickens and Frank McCourt, Finn recounts the brutal experience of his confinement in Ireland's Letterfrack Industrial School, an institution for juvenile delinquents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FASHION TO KILL by Mickey Wyte
Released: April 11, 2012

"A gripping, satisfying whodunit."
When Jack Centaur's niece makes her modeling debut in a crime scene photo, he goes in search of her murderer in Wyte's gritty debut mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

"Wit and nostalgia mitigate, but don't entirely compensate for, a weak story arc and lack of emotional engagement."
Endearing but ultimately disappointing inquiry into collegiate a cappella via three beloved groups. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIPTIDE by Mickey Friedman
Released: Feb. 17, 1994

"Friedman (A Temporary Ghost, 1987, etc.) provides an engaging heroine, an offbeat supporting cast, and just enough mystery to keep them occupied."
Laid off from her New York job, plucky artist Isabel Anders allows herself to be drawn back to Florida to take care of her disoriented aunt Merriam, who'd disinherited her after she eloped as a teenager. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"Jessica Hagedorn, Fay Weldon, Jane Smiley, Jayne Anne Phillips, Terry Tempest Williams, and Shirley Abbott are among the others whom Pearlman speaks to in this engaging, informative collection."
Though described as ``twenty interviews,'' what Pearlman (ed., American Women Writing Fiction, 1989, etc.) really gives us here is not Q&A talks but something more: brief and telling profiles of 20 women writers, with extensive conversational quotes from the authors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FEW THOUSAND WORDS ABOUT LOVE by Mickey Pearlman
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Feb. 14, 1998

"A meaningful collection for those wishing to contemplate the immensity of love. (Author tour)"
Truths and memorable voices fill this sharp essay collection about the nature of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2004

"Surely the breeziest account yet of the Blacklist."
Slapdash memoir from a once-blacklisted actor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING’S DOWN THERE by Mickey Spillane
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"If Hammer's last case, Black Alley (1996), was an exercise in shamus nostalgia, this yarn regresses even further to the Boy's Own Adventure period, complete with the girl in the pink bikini the hero wouldn't dream of seducing."
What a difference a half-century makes. The legendary hard-boiled master's latest seafaring adventure, less Mike Hammer than Ernest Hemingway, packs all the wallop of a newborn kitten. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNNATURAL SELECTIONS by Wallace Edwards
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"An imaginary zoo that will set readers to chortling. (key to smaller creatures) (Picture book. 6-8)"
A gallery of chimerical critters that Darwin himself would be hard put to justify. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAINTED CIRCUS by Wallace Edwards
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Enhanced by a surprise or two in the page corners, this offers plenty of potential for enjoyable browsing. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Illustrated in rococo, circus-poster style, the 22 acts presented in this gallery each feature a visual effect or illusion, introduced by florid commentary from mouse ringmaster P.T. Vermin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE LONELY NIGHT by Mickey Spillane
Released: March 5, 1951

"Slambang-brazen — snarling — fleshy — this is the usual lush pulpery."
Mike Hammer, licensed investigator and a bit too lethal for police and society's rules, sticks it out to the end in a case too hot to handle because of its political and Communistic angles. Read full book review >