Search Results: "Mickey Finn"


BOOK REVIEW

FINN by Katharine Jay Bacon
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"Bits and pieces of the narrative, especially those involving horses, other animals, and descriptions of the farm, are well-crafted, holding out a promise of a story telling that is never realized. (Fiction. 12-14)"
A suspense story without much suspense, constructed from disparate elements that never quite mesh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINN by Jon Clinch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 27, 2007

"Despite needlessly confusing chronology, a memorable debut, likely to make waves."
The Finn in question is not Huck, but his father, a "strange sad monster" in newcomer Clinch's bold and deeply disturbing work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 21, 2011

"Finn's story is one of survival—and a compelling one at that—yet he compartmentalizes the experience as one of inevitable darkness wherein its recounting sheds only brief moments of light.
"
In a tightly constructed, well-paced memoir that sits squarely in the tradition of Dickens and Frank McCourt, Finn recounts the brutal experience of his confinement in Ireland's Letterfrack Industrial School, an institution for juvenile delinquents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINN by Christopher Brookhouse
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2015

"A novel to be savored more than once, written with the same languorous, rumbling passion of Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward's film The Long Hot Summer."
Looking behind propriety's lace-curtain gentility into the hardwoods of sin, Brookhouse (Loving Ryan, 2010, etc.) offers pure Southern noir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GENA/FINN by Hannah Moskowitz
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 5, 2016

"Overall, though, it's very satisfying to see this moment in fandom and Internet-originating relationships so capably represented. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two devoted members of an emotional cop drama's fandom meet online and feel an instant bond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINN McCOUL by Brian Gleeson
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"This collaboration is uproarious, a brain-fevered interpretation that's also smart as a whip. (Picture book/folklore. 8+)"
Out of the third century a.d. comes Finn McCoul (a.k.a. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICKEY MANTLE by Jonah Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"A loving perspective on a beloved Yankee hero. (Picture book/biography. 7-10)"
Mickey Mantle was a gifted, talented white baseball player who was admired and truly loved by his fans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICKEY & ME by Dan Gutman
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"A thoroughly entertaining mix of fantasy, baseball, and history. (Fiction 10-12)"
Joe Stoshack, known as Stosh, has a special gift. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Killing Mickey by Charlie Rehor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 19, 2016

"A satire with hilarious leaps of imagination and a solid core of societal engagement."
Rehor's debut is a gonzo sci-fi comedy about a near-future world of corporate stranglehold where a programmer trying to escape his past may threaten the future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICKEY PRICE by John P. Stanley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"An adventure punctuated with moments of hilarity and suspense but overall as thin as the interplanetary vacuum. (Science fiction. 10-12)"
In a tale that requires not just the suspension of disbelief, but expulsion of prejudice, NASA sends a group of 1970s fifth-graders to the moon on a secret mission. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICKEY MOONBEAM by Mike Brownlow
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Prime sci-fi adventure for the very young. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A boy astronaut journeys in his spaceship to save an alien pen pal. Read full book review >