Search Results: "Mickey Finn"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 21, 2011

"Finn's story is one of survival—and a compelling one at that—yet he compartmentalizes the experience as one of inevitable darkness wherein its recounting sheds only brief moments of light.
"
In a tightly constructed, well-paced memoir that sits squarely in the tradition of Dickens and Frank McCourt, Finn recounts the brutal experience of his confinement in Ireland's Letterfrack Industrial School, an institution for juvenile delinquents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AWAY FROM YOU by Melanie Finn
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2005

"More Graham Greene than Doris Lessing, Finn writes with cool detachment and is best in recreating life among the fading colonialists."
Originally published in England, Finn's promising debut novel intertwines the story of a rootless young woman's return to Kenya after her estranged father's death with the history of her parents' unhappy life in mid-20th century East Africa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING’S DOWN THERE by Mickey Spillane
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"If Hammer's last case, Black Alley (1996), was an exercise in shamus nostalgia, this yarn regresses even further to the Boy's Own Adventure period, complete with the girl in the pink bikini the hero wouldn't dream of seducing."
What a difference a half-century makes. The legendary hard-boiled master's latest seafaring adventure, less Mike Hammer than Ernest Hemingway, packs all the wallop of a newborn kitten. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LONG HAUL by Finn Murphy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 6, 2017

"An entertaining and insightful snapshot of the hauling life."
A moving trucker shares stories from a life on the open road. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 15, 1994

"Frequent celebrity coauthor Herskowitz (This 'n' That by Bette Davis, 1987, etc.) helps the slugger achieve a low-key, no-frills prose style that packs a lot of information (and some good gossip) into a fairly short book. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Given Mantle's well-known fondness for the bottle (and his widely publicized decision to seek treatment for it earlier this year), it's perhaps not surprising that his book opens and closes with a plea to kids not to abuse drugs or alcohol. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 1, 1998

"Full-body immersion for fans of the trilogy, who clearly prefer their narratives sluggish, talky, and prone to dwell on the insignificant."
Concluding volume of the trilogy (Prince of Demons and Beyond Ragnarok, not reviewed) whose backdrop is a dubious concoction of Norse gods, Celtic myth, and family saga, embroidered with standard fantasy designs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 17, 2014

"A fast-paced political thriller about a book that terrified a nation."
The derring-do-packed history of "one of the first efforts by the CIA to leverage books as instruments of political warfare." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAW by Fiona Finn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 10, 2013

"An unrefined, unpolished story of finding yourself that reads like a cautionary tale."
The confessions of a codependent housewife who stumbled through two failed marriages, raised three kids and overcame cancer to prove her mettle as a wife, mother and survivor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 20, 1991

"A sincere, if too heroic, plea worth reading by educators and concerned parents."
A call to arms to fundamentally revolutionize the catastrophically afflicted public education system in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2012

"Recommended for runners as well as the sport's fans."
A six-month journey in search of the secrets behind the world's fastest runners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IRISH PRINCESS by Mickey Clement
Released: March 23, 1994

"Nothing new or rivetingly insightful, but a pleasingly told tale that touches the heart."
A conventional Irish-American first novel with all expected elements—close-knit families, suffocating religiosity, and mordant fatalism—that nonetheless movingly celebrates love and true grit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1994

"A passionate and profoundly life-affirming collection. (Serial rights to Ladies Home Journal, Glamour, Utne Reader, etc.)"
Pearlman, editor of Listen to Their Voices (1993) and A Voice of One's Own (not reviewed), has a talent for rustling up the most interesting guests for her literary salons. Read full book review >