Search Results: "Mike Reagan"


BOOK REVIEW

REAGAN by Marc Eliot
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"An enlightening, richly detailed and suggestively disturbing look at the American Dream and one of its truest dreamers."
Eliot (Song of Brooklyn: An Oral History of America's Favorite Borough, 2008, etc.) charts the less-than-stellar career of Ronald Reagan, the actor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAGAN by H.W. Brands
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"An exemplary work of history that should bring Reagan a touch more respect in some regards but that removes the halo at the same time."
Monumental life of the president whom some worship and some despise—with Brands (History/Univ. of Texas; The Man Who Saved the Union: Ulysses Grant in War and Peace, 2012, etc.) providing plenty of justification for both reactions.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 30, 1998

"Not a seminal work of scholarship, but like the Strobers' other works, a valuable contribution to the study of the modern presidency."
From the Strobers (Nixon, 1994; Let Us Begin Anew, 1993), the third in a series of oral histories of modern American presidencies, consisting of a savory stew of narratives and musings on Ronald Reagan's momentous administration, by insiders, foreign leaders, and other observers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RONALD REAGAN by Jacob Weisberg
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"This concise biography makes a good case that Reagan was the second most important president of the 20th century after Franklin Roosevelt."
The latest in the commendable American Presidents series is a thoughtful biography of an increasingly well-regarded president. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"A significant book, if surely arguable in granting Reagan more depth and ability than most nonbelievers have hitherto suspected."
A middle-of-the-road liberal (John Adams, 2003, etc.) looks into Ronald Reagan's soul and concludes that it was great—and that the president was "politically wise, humane, and magnanimous" to boot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENT REAGAN by Lou Cannon
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 29, 1991

"Complementing Garry Wills's Reagan's America (1986), this is a generous and informative commentary of a presidency that will not soon be forgotten. (Book-of-the-Month Dual Selection for July)"
In this monumental (752-page) review of Reagan's White House years, veteran Washington Post correspondent and Reagan-watcher Cannon (Reagan, 1982; Ronnie and Jessie, 1969) cements his reputation as one of the fairest and most knowledgeable reporters on the former President of his legacy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLOSSUS RISES by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment. (Fiction. 8-14)"
The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOR MIKE by Shelley Sykes
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 1, 1998

"An above-average mystery, with a supernatural twist, a romantic subplot, and answers and forgiveness at the end. (Fiction. 12-15)"
Strange, recurrent dreams and startling revelations follow the disappearance of a teenager's best friend in this well-knit debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIKE WALLACE by Peter Rader
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 24, 2012

"Bold, well-crafted biography of a long-elusive and controversial public figure."
A probing biography unveils the insecure depressive lurking inside 60 Minutes journalist Mike Wallace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIKE BLOOMBERG by Joyce Purnick
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 29, 2009

"A touch too uncritical for readers brought up on hardnosed journalistic takes on politicians, but of interest to students of Gotham politics."
Generally admiring biography of the New York politician whom many have criticized but few have outflanked. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLIE MIKE by Joe Klein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"The compelling story of a continuing mission, rendered with sympathy and verisimilitude."
A savvy political observer presents his report on some veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan after they return home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIKE STELLAR by K.A.  Holt
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 23, 2009

"Readers will enjoy watching Mike work his way through both muddled feelings and adult secrets with savvy sleuthing, sharp observation and courage in the clutch. (Science fiction. 10-12)"
Strange behavior from all the grown-ups and the over-hasty departure of an interstellar expedition raise a lad's suspicions in this adventure-comedy set in 2174. Read full book review >