Search Results: "Mike Reagan"


BOOK REVIEW

THE COLOSSUS RISES by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment. (Fiction. 8-14)"
The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLIPPER AND FLIPPER IN THE QUEST FOR THE GOLDEN SUN by Susan Reagan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Delightful art can't save this problematic exploration. (Picture book. 5-8) "
Two penguin siblings, Slipper and Flipper, have grown up idolizing their famous forebear, helmet-wearing Spanish explorer Don Pingüino, and want to emulate him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SHINING CITY by Ronald Reagan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 6, 1998

"Two of the last pieces, consisting of copies of Reagan's handwritten letter in 1994 announcing that he had been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease and of Nancy Reagan's remarks before the 1996 Republican convention, are the book's most moving. (45 b&w photos and 8 pages color photos, not seen)"
Excerpts drawn from 50 of Reagan's post-presidential speeches (delivered during 199094), interwoven with tributes to the president from a variety of notables, including Billy Graham, Henry Kissinger, John Major, Charlton Heston, Lech Walesa, Jimmy Carter, George Bush, and President Clinton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Devil's Handshake by Michael Reagan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 14, 2014

"Readers may be distracted by grammatical issues, but Reagan turns his 500-plus pages into a searing epic."
A former British Special Forces officer becomes a billionaire businessman and finds the corporate world and global politics just as bloodthirsty as the battlefield in Reagan's debut thriller, the first in a proposed series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FATHER AT 100 by Ron Reagan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 18, 2011

"A worthy memoir, given what might seem at first a superfluous quest for understanding."
Ronald Reagan's son seeks to understand his father by researching his formative years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST FATHER, FIRST DAUGHTER by Maureen Reagan
Released: April 3, 1989

If all of this cheery book were as clichÇd and sanitized as the opening chapters, one could write it off as the first of the first family's memoirs: exuberant yet inconsequential. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN AMERICAN LIFE by Ronald Reagan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 11, 2011

"It would have been nice to see clips from his Hollywood career, but those who miss the political Ronald Reagan will find the enhanced e-book a suitably worshipful souvenir."
To mark the Reagan centenary in 2011, Simon and Schuster is re-releasing the 40th president's 1990 memoir in several formats, including this enhanced electronic edition. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Diamonds of Infinity by John Reagan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

"Little more than a young man's journal, chronicling years of personal hopes, troubles, and obligations."
A mélange of journal entries, songs, and poems form the basis of this memoir of bohemian adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"An odd sociopolitical amalgam, of interest mainly for the personal insights a lightweight son can provide on his world-class father, rather than its anti-Democrat invective or pro forma attempt to revive the Reagan Revolution."
Ronald Reagan's adoptive son offers a digressive tract that combines—not always effectively or gracefully—a celebration of his father's presidency, a neoconservative agenda for national renewal, score-settling asides on those he feels have done him wrong, and ad hominem attacks on Bill Clinton that might give the American Spectator pause. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEVIL'S PLAYGROUND by Michael Reagan
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 20, 2014

"Nearly as long as the voluminous prequel but more swiftly paced, the second in the Litchfield series is a marked improvement."
In Reagan's (The Devil's Handshake, 2014) latest thriller, billionaire oligarch Sir Thomas Litchfield returns, caught in global tension over the control of Central Asia's natural gas. Read full book review >