Search Results: "Miles Arceneaux"


BOOK REVIEW

North Beach by Miles Arceneaux
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2015

"Charlie eventually gets his shot in the ring, but the selfless, obstinate protagonist is already a champ."
In the fourth of Arceneaux's (Ransom Island, 2014, etc.) Gulf Coast thriller series, a 15-year-old athlete hopes to clear his professional boxing pal of a murder charge.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIN SLICE OF LIFE by Miles Arceneaux
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 25, 2012

"An engaging crime caper. This book hits the mark."
The triumvirate writing as Miles Arceneaux (aka Texas authors Brent Douglass, John T. Davis and James R. Dennis) debuts with a hurricane-ravaged thriller in the atmosphere-and-action mode of Sue Grafton's Santa Teresa and James Lee Burke's Cajun country. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A revealing look at the real, deeply unpleasant work of murder investigators."
A literate, unfailingly interesting work of true crime by a veteran of the genre, picking up where his The Killing Season (1997) left off. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN RETIREMENT by John Miles
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 17, 1994

"Though the confusion of staged and real mysteries seems falsely promising early on, this turns out to be no different from dozens of other staged-murder-turned-real scenarios."
Everybody who worked with him, and quite a few people who didn't, would've loved to see J. Turner Redwine dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 5, 1993

"More an extended and semiliterate fan-gush than a biography; for a far more satisfying look at Burroughs's life, see Ted Morgan's Literary Outlaw (1988). (B&w photographs)"
Fawning and klutzy, with the critical and grammatical skills of the average college sophomore book report (``Just because Burroughs appropriates characters or even chunks of text from someone else's book, this does not mean they are an influence on him, though it probably does mean that he likes their work''), Miles (Allen Ginsberg, 1989) slaps Burroughs's life and spotty works down into a sandwich of no-brainer Zeitgeist-y approval (``Lauren Hutton introduced him on Saturday Night Live in December 1981 as `in my opinion the greatest living writer' ''), buying-in wholesale to Burroughs's off-the-cuff and self-resolving ``theories'' (``legal cannabis was prescribed for paranoia: cannabis is illegal, therefore users suffer from the paranoia that they will get busted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST by Jack Miles
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 5, 2001

"But no doubt the hordes of readers who devoured God: A Biography (1995) will be happy to get more of the same."
Pulitzer-winner Miles concentrates on the gospels (mostly John, supplemented by Luke and Matthew), with occasional reference to Acts and a closing look at Revelation. Read full book review >