Search Results: "Miles Harvey"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 8, 2000

"Harvey stretches some analogies to the snapping point, but has drawn a lovely map of an exotic world. (18 maps, not seen)"
Magazine journalist Harvey (Outside) charts the case of Gilbert Bland Jr., who in the 1990s stole vast amounts of rare material from some of North America's most prestigious research libraries and thus became "the greatest American map thief in history." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2008

"Insatiable curiosity and fierce pursuit of fact combine to create a graceful exploration of worlds old and new."
Impressive if necessarily incomplete biography of a 16th-century French artist who survived both deprivation and Spanish attacks to produce stunning, controversial images of the New World. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 5, 1993

"More an extended and semiliterate fan-gush than a biography; for a far more satisfying look at Burroughs's life, see Ted Morgan's Literary Outlaw (1988). (B&w photographs)"
Fawning and klutzy, with the critical and grammatical skills of the average college sophomore book report (``Just because Burroughs appropriates characters or even chunks of text from someone else's book, this does not mean they are an influence on him, though it probably does mean that he likes their work''), Miles (Allen Ginsberg, 1989) slaps Burroughs's life and spotty works down into a sandwich of no-brainer Zeitgeist-y approval (``Lauren Hutton introduced him on Saturday Night Live in December 1981 as `in my opinion the greatest living writer' ''), buying-in wholesale to Burroughs's off-the-cuff and self-resolving ``theories'' (``legal cannabis was prescribed for paranoia: cannabis is illegal, therefore users suffer from the paranoia that they will get busted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMSON AND THE GREEK DELILAH by Miles Tripp
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 1996

"Long even for its modest length, though the scenery on both sides of the bedroom window is a plus."
London inquiry agent/troubleshooter John Samson rescues a damsel in distress in the south of France and spends the rest of his vacation regretting his derring-do. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST by Jack Miles
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 5, 2001

"But no doubt the hordes of readers who devoured God: A Biography (1995) will be happy to get more of the same."
Pulitzer-winner Miles concentrates on the gospels (mostly John, supplemented by Luke and Matthew), with occasional reference to Acts and a closing look at Revelation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A revealing look at the real, deeply unpleasant work of murder investigators."
A literate, unfailingly interesting work of true crime by a veteran of the genre, picking up where his The Killing Season (1997) left off. Read full book review >