Search Results: "Miranda Beverly-Whittemore"


BOOK REVIEW

JUNE by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 31, 2016

"A lightly gothic tale of hearts broken and mended in small-town America."
Love between a small-town girl and one of Hollywood's leading men leads to murder, blackmail, and secrets. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EFFECTS OF LIGHT by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2005

"Entertaining but schematic, with characters' motivations often so unexpected as to be nearly implausible."
A thought-provoking debut about a young woman attempting to untangle a tortured and confused past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BITTERSWEET by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 13, 2014

"Beverly-Whittemore (Set Me Free, 2007, etc.) has crafted a page-turner riddled with stubborn clues, a twisty plot and beguiling characters."
As a young woman struggles to read Paradise Lost, she faces her own temptation. Is she brave enough to choose good over evil? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLONIAL MADNESS by Jo Whittemore
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"The history goes down easy, with lots of laughs. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Tori and her mom must live in the past in order to win a desperately needed inheritance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODD GIRL IN by Jo Whittemore
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2011

"Funny and perky. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Spunky 12-year-old Alex doesn't really want friends or a social life in this quirky middle-school comedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

100 REASONS SHAKE-SPEARE WAS THE EARL OF OXFORD by Hank Whittemore
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 27, 2016

"An engrossing and thoughtful literary examination."
A book offers an energetic defense of the Earl of Oxford theory regarding the authorship of the plays of William Shakespeare. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FRACTURE by Megan Miranda
FANTASY
Released: Jan. 3, 2012

"An occasionally thrilling paranormal romance with enough spellbinding incidents to overcome the clichéd components. (Paranormal romantic thriller. 11 & up)"
Eleven full minutes pass before 17-year-old Delaney's best friend Decker pulls her from beneath the ice of a northern Maine lake. Can she recover from the bizarre results of her long period without oxygen? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SAFEST LIES by Megan Miranda
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 24, 2016

"Positively movie-ready. (Thriller. 12-18)"
Kelsey has lived her entire 17 years with her mother in a house set up like a fortress. When her agoraphobic mom disappears, Kelsey finds herself in real danger. Read full book review >