Search Results: "Mirjam Pressler"


BOOK REVIEW

MALKA by Mirjam Pressler
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2003

"Heartbreaking historical fiction based loosely on the real Malka Mai's life, this belongs with the best Holocaust literature. (afterword) (Historical fiction. 12+)"
A wrenching Holocaust story about flight, fear, and a child left alone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHYLOCK’S DAUGHTER by Mirjam Pressler
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2001

In this turgid elaboration of Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice, Pressler (Anne Frank: A Hidden Life, 2000, etc.) subordinates the story's events both to a rich re-creation of the texture of life in the Venetian ghetto and to a series of overwrought reveries in which her unappealing cast members cast light on their various character flaws. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HALINKA by Mirjam Pressler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"An unwieldy cast inhabits the sketchily laid-out post-WWII setting. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A book, a friend, and a piece of sculpture put small cracks in the shell that an abused Polish-German foster child has built around herself, but Pressler allows only very observant readers to glimpse the hurt that shell was built to contain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 19, 2011

"For readers of Anne Frank's diary—namely, nearly everyone—this is a moving amplification on her too-brief life."
Heart-rending documents of Anne Frank's family, both before and after the devastating events of the war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE SUN DID NOT RISE AND SHINE by Mirjam Enzerink
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"This Dutch import offers a sweet and funny twist on the bedtime book. (Picture book. 4-7) "
Will the morning never come? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BACK TO SCHOOL WITH BIGFOOT by Samantha Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2017

"Nicely juxtaposes the negative what-ifs with a great list of positives and just may lead nervous readers to do the same. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Bigfoot's body and feet may be larger than most, but his worries, though they feel monumental to him, will be familiar to grade schoolers. Read full book review >