Search Results: "Miss Clara"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SNOW QUEEN by Sarah Lowes
retold by Sarah Lowes, illustrated by Miss Clara
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"The small, novel-like format (5.5 x 8 inches) will most likely appeal to reluctant or recently independent readers, who might be encouraged by this simple retelling to seek fuller versions of the tale. (Fairy tale. 8-10)"
This much-abridged recreation of the famous tale by Hans Christian Andersen is smoothly told, following the original structure of seven short chapters, while leaving out numerous details and the Christian elements of the original. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA by Janice Galloway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Still, the sound of Great Personalities clashing makes a rollicking good read."
Scottish novelist and storywriter Galloway (Where You Find It, 2002, etc.) brings us the life and work of Clara Schumann in an impassioned fictional biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"For all its problematic nature, a sweetly portrayed relationship. (author's note, resources) (Picture book. 5-8)"
An orphaned rhinoceros, acquired by a Dutch sea captain in India, captivates 18th-century Europe during her 17-year continental tour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA by Luisa Valenzuela
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2000

"Valenzuela has since done much better than this."
A new translation of the veteran Argentinian writer's early (English, 1976) tale of a dreamy teenager who drifts into prostitution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES by The Brothers Grimm
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"A pleasant retelling enhanced by a truly original presentation. (Fairy tale. 7-10)"
A traditional Grimm tale is retold, with mixed results, in chapter form for "confident readers." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA HUMBLE by Anna Humphrey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2017

"Smart, lively, and genuine, Clara Humble will feel familiar to anyone who has ever ignored that worried feeling in the pit of their stomach. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Clara Humble (who is not so humble) gets to show off her stuff on television when her favorite show, Smarty Pants, comes to town! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Jake & Clara by David R. Stokes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 20, 2015

"A potent, nearly perfect brew of politics, murder, mayhem, and mystery.
"
Stokes' (How to Keep Calm and Carry On, 2014, etc.) crisp work of historical fiction animates the most sensational homicide trial in the criminal annals of Oklahoma. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA CALLAN by Richard B. Wright
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"A wrenching chronicle of time passing and opportunity lost."
The separate histories of two sisters are traced with understated compassion in this superb novel, the ninth from the Ontario author (Farthing's Fortunes, 1976, etc.) and winner of Canada's Giller Prize and Governor General's Award. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA CATERPILLAR by Pamela Duncan Edwards
ANIMALS
Released: May 31, 2001

"It's an alliterative adventure that may be set in a garden, but is anything but garden-variety. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fans of Four Famished Foxes and Fosdyke (1995) and Some Swell Slug (1996) will have fun with this freshly minted fable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 19, 1999

"Anyone interested in music history or in women's history will find a compelling story well told here. (index, not seen, b&w reproductions and photos, chronology, source notes) (Biography. 10-16)"
Extremely well-researched and presented, this sumptuous book presents the extraordinary career of Schumann, who was more celebrated during her lifetime than her composer husband, Robert, was. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND DAVIE by Patricia Polacco
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Not up to Polacco's usual standard. (Picture book. 7-10)"
From her apparently inexhaustible font of family stories, Polacco chooses one about Clara Barton, founder of the American Red Cross and a distant relative by marriage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND MR. TIFFANY by Susan Vreeland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 11, 2011

"A novel that reads like a labor of love. Unfortunately, the labor is as evident as the love."
In her sixth work of fiction about the inter-penetration of life and art, Vreeland (Luncheon of the Boating Party, 2007, etc.) celebrates the putative designer of Tiffany's leaded-glass lampshades. Read full book review >