Search Results: "Miss Clara"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SNOW QUEEN by Sarah Lowes
retold by Sarah Lowes, illustrated by Miss Clara
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"The small, novel-like format (5.5 x 8 inches) will most likely appeal to reluctant or recently independent readers, who might be encouraged by this simple retelling to seek fuller versions of the tale. (Fairy tale. 8-10)"
This much-abridged recreation of the famous tale by Hans Christian Andersen is smoothly told, following the original structure of seven short chapters, while leaving out numerous details and the Christian elements of the original. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA by Janice Galloway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Still, the sound of Great Personalities clashing makes a rollicking good read."
Scottish novelist and storywriter Galloway (Where You Find It, 2002, etc.) brings us the life and work of Clara Schumann in an impassioned fictional biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"For all its problematic nature, a sweetly portrayed relationship. (author's note, resources) (Picture book. 5-8)"
An orphaned rhinoceros, acquired by a Dutch sea captain in India, captivates 18th-century Europe during her 17-year continental tour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA by Luisa Valenzuela
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2000

"Valenzuela has since done much better than this."
A new translation of the veteran Argentinian writer's early (English, 1976) tale of a dreamy teenager who drifts into prostitution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES by The Brothers Grimm
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"A pleasant retelling enhanced by a truly original presentation. (Fairy tale. 7-10)"
A traditional Grimm tale is retold, with mixed results, in chapter form for "confident readers." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Jake & Clara by David R. Stokes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 20, 2015

"A potent, nearly perfect brew of politics, murder, mayhem, and mystery.
"
Stokes' (How to Keep Calm and Carry On, 2014, etc.) crisp work of historical fiction animates the most sensational homicide trial in the criminal annals of Oklahoma. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA CALLAN by Richard B. Wright
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"A wrenching chronicle of time passing and opportunity lost."
The separate histories of two sisters are traced with understated compassion in this superb novel, the ninth from the Ontario author (Farthing's Fortunes, 1976, etc.) and winner of Canada's Giller Prize and Governor General's Award. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA HUMBLE by Anna Humphrey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2017

"Smart, lively, and genuine, Clara Humble will feel familiar to anyone who has ever ignored that worried feeling in the pit of their stomach. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Clara Humble (who is not so humble) gets to show off her stuff on television when her favorite show, Smarty Pants, comes to town! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA CATERPILLAR by Pamela Duncan Edwards
ANIMALS
Released: May 31, 2001

"It's an alliterative adventure that may be set in a garden, but is anything but garden-variety. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Fans of Four Famished Foxes and Fosdyke (1995) and Some Swell Slug (1996) will have fun with this freshly minted fable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 19, 1999

"Anyone interested in music history or in women's history will find a compelling story well told here. (index, not seen, b&w reproductions and photos, chronology, source notes) (Biography. 10-16)"
Extremely well-researched and presented, this sumptuous book presents the extraordinary career of Schumann, who was more celebrated during her lifetime than her composer husband, Robert, was. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TRAVELS WITH CLARA by Mary Tavener Holmes
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 10, 2007

"Like Mary Jo Collier's King's Giraffe, illustrated by Stéfane Poulin (1996), this is an engaging animal story that also provides a glimpse of a time when Europeans were at last awakening to the world's size and wonder. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Spun from a true historical episode and illustrated with a mix of simply drawn cartoons and 18th-century prints and paintings, this affectionate memoir recalls visits to the great cities of Europe in the company of an exotic Indian rhinoceros. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA AND ASHA by Eric Rohmann
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"Lest young readers think Asha is Clara's exclusive imaginary friend, an eager-looking crocodile comes to her window at the end, and Clara thinks, 'Can I help if I have so many friends?' (Picture book. 4-8)"
Asha is a giant fish, originally of the spitting marble-fountain variety, who flies up to Clara's bedroom window at night when she can't get to sleep. Read full book review >