Search Results: "Mitch Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

UNEARTHING by Alan Moore
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 12, 2012

"Alan Moore at his Mooriest: inscrutable yet compelling."
A comic-book legend and an acclaimed photographer team up to present a visceral biographical sketch of author and occultist Steve Moore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"Too often, though, Gelman's self-absorbed approach gets in the way of the terrific stories he has to tell; for the real moxie, read Buchanan."
A tumultuous year (1989) in the life of a cub crime-reporter for New York Newsday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLY SLATER'S LANE by Mitch Wieland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 3, 1997

"A modest mixture of Sherwood Anderson and Erskine Caldwell, with some perfectly observed characters in a narrative that is winningly sweet without being sentimental."
Charming, upbeat first novel set in Ohio. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SLIGHT TRICK OF THE MIND by Mitch Cullin
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 26, 2005

"A talented writer's bold step forward. Let's hope Cullin isn't finished with Sherlock Holmes."
This wistful portrayal of Sherlock Holmes in old age is a real departure from Cullin's previous up-and-down fiction (Undersurface, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BRANCHES by Mitch Cullin
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2000

"Yes, something like that."
Cullin returns (Whompyjawed, 1999) to gritty west Texas where lawmen, like Sheriff Branches, can be mean as hungry rattlers'and, to judge by this case, almost as complex. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 21, 2013

"Lively tips and practical advice pinned to a presentation of emerging digital technologies."
Information Technology and marketing guru Joel (Six Pixels of Separation: Everyone Is Connected. Connect Your Business to Everyone, 2010) lays out his vision for how businesses and individuals must re-organize themselves to make it in the upcoming upgrade of the digital world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE POST-WAR DREAM by Mitch Cullin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 2008

"A misstep in Cullin's unpredictable, adventurous and, alas, frustratingly uneven oeuvre."
Yet another change of pace for the versatile Texas-born author, now living in Japan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 26, 2015

"A visionary, engaging book that offers real insight into an exciting alternative method for operating a business."
In this forward-looking debut, a former CEO and business coach promotes a plan to transform traditionally run businesses into "virtual" organizations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 6, 2017

"Though repetitive, an eye-opening look at the ways of the world—at least the world as the cool kids know it."
For those who wish they sat at the popular kids' table back in the day comes this intriguing treatise on how popularity works, sometimes for good, sometimes for ill. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >