Search Results: "Miyuki Miyabe"


BOOK REVIEW

ALL SHE WAS WORTH by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"Fans of Ross Macdonald and Julian Symons will have no trouble seeing why."
In preparation for his marriage to Shoko Sekine, Jun Kurisaka urges her to apply for a credit card in her own name. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW FAMILY by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Less resonant than All She Was Worth (1997), but still a clever puzzle whose commentary on the fragility and reinvention of families gives it a special edge."
A task force from the Tokyo Metro Police Department finds that family ties can be murder, even if they've been forged online. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEVIL’S WHISPER by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Miyabi's fourth English translation (Crossfire, 2006, etc.) is a boldly imagined howdunit and a penetrating look at the problems of establishing and maintaining an identity in modern Japan."
A killer with a foolproof means of murder ticks victims methodically off his Tokyo hit list as a high-school student races to save the last target. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CROSSFIRE by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 6, 2006

"Miyabe's trademark sociological dissection of contemporary Japan (Shadow Family, 2005, etc.) takes a backseat to Stephen King set pieces in the most conventional of her three novels translated into English. But she still manages to capture the warring loyalties of her avengers."
A veteran Tokyo cop hunts a vigilante killer with paranormal powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"The CDs are a nice addition."
Masters of Modern Japanese Poetry ($39.95; Oct.; 192 pp.; 0-9645356-8-8): A bilingual (facing pages) edition of contemporary Japanese verse, in this case accompanied by two compact discs recording that verse as spoken by its translators and authors. Read full book review >