Search Results: "Molly Molloy"


BOOK REVIEW

EL SICARIO by Molly Molloy
NON-FICTION
Released: June 14, 2011

"While somewhat unique, El Sicario's tale is also quite familiar—one in which the power of money, drugs and women all play a role in achieving the necessary numbness required to carry out unspeakable crimes."
A reformed assassin's tell-all of the horrors endured and executed throughout his years in the Mexican drug trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN SOPHIE'S FEELINGS ARE REALLY, REALLY HURT by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Bang's trademark striking colors and bold outlines enhance this welcome new book that's as much about the creative process as it is about emotion. (Picture book. 5-7)"
From the author/illustrator of Caldecott Honor book When Sophie Gets Angry—Really, Really Angry (1999) comes another book about coping with emotional upheaval.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN MY HEART by Molly Bang
Kirkus Star
by Molly Bang, illustrated by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Happy and heartwarming. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Heartfelt verbal and visual images strongly validate the invisible, invincible ties binding parent and child in this upbeat affirmation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN SOPHIE GETS ANGRY--REALLY, REALLY ANGRY . . . by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1999

When Sophie has to surrender one toy to her sister, stumbles over another toy, and gets no sympathy from her mother, she runs furiously out into the woods, first to cry, and then sit in a huge old beech, watching the ocean until the tempest abates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHATTANOOGA SLUDGE by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"It all adds up to a favorable omen for the future of the Chattanooga. (Picture book/nonfiction. 8-12)"
Bang (One Fall Day, 1994, etc.) salutes one man's efforts to clean up "the most polluted waterway in the southeastern United States." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLORA AND THE CHICKS by Molly Idle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"These chicks are an adorable brood. Here's hoping Flora and an array of beasties will be appearing in the flaps of more board books soon. (Board book. 1-3)"
Flora, the animal-loving star of a wordless trio of picture books, makes her board-book debut by counting chicks as they hatch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO BREAK BAD NEWS by Tim Molloy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"A throwaway product not worth the paper it's printed on."
Associated Press reporter Molloy plumbs the shady side of his trade in a graceless debut about a narcissistic muckraker with delusions of grandeur. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE ON FALLING STAR HILL by Michael Molloy
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2004

"For some readers, that may be enough. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Long on inventive details, if short on internal logic, this sweeping tale, set largely in an alternate world whose inhabitants ride oversized pigs and birds rather than horses, colorfully opens a (probable) new series from the author of Witch Trade (2001) and its sequels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH TRADE by Michael Molloy
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"There's not much here for fans of J.M. Barrie, Joan Aiken, Pullman's His Dark Materials, and the like beyond a sense of déjà vu. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A novelist for adults tries for a younger audience with a condescending, thinly disguised pastiche of classic and recent fantasies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"Often heavy-handed, but original as well: Giles's stories don't make a pretty picture, but often they do offer a convincing one."
A second collection from Giles (after Rough Translations, 1985) evokes the bitter quality of declining lives in terse—and ultimately depressing—tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILDER RUMORS by Molly MacRae
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 16, 2007

"An intriguing debut that holds the reader's interest from start to finish."
A museum curator in a backwater Tennessee town stands accused of burglary and murder. Read full book review >