Search Results: "Monica McInerney"


BOOK REVIEW

MONICA by Saunders Lewis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 31, 1997

"But Lewis is also an obtrusive writer whose digressions and summaries both vitiate this novel's artfulness and make it unlikely that Monica will ever be seen as anything more than an unusually interesting period piece."
Monica ($17.95 paperback original; Oct. 31; 120 pp.; 1-85411-195-7): The first American edition of a once-notorious 1930 novel by eminent Welsh writer Lewis (18931985), whose only foray into prose fiction was this Bovary-an tale of an unhappy housewife sustained, then betrayed, by her overheated romantic imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOLA'S SECRET by Monica McInerney
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"If McInerney fans search hard enough, they'll find a faint heartwarming message somewhere in the midst of this ho-hum plot."
Life can be both good and bad, and you're guaranteed heaps of both in McInerney's follow-up to The Alphabet Sisters (2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ALPHABET SISTERS by Monica McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2005

"In the tradition of Binchy and McMurtry, Australian author McInerny manipulates plot- and heart-strings unapologetically."
Sibling rivalry and sisterly devotion mix it up in South Australia—in McInerney's American debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO FROM THE GILLESPIES by Monica McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"In a book written with humor and charm, family members show the best of themselves after the people on their wife and mother's mailing list saw them at their worst."
McInerney (The House of Memories, 2014, etc.) serves up a satisfying family drama stemming from a fed-up woman finally coming clean in her traditional Christmas letter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLING MONICA by Candace Bushnell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 23, 2015

"The book's portrayal of Pandy feels both self-congratulatory and unintentionally unpleasant, the hostility toward male characters is virulent—the only good male in the book may not be one—and the sense of humor is nil."
Bushnell (One Fifth Avenue, 2008, etc.) is still playing her Sex and the City riffs in this self-referential sort-of satire about an author whose insanely popular fictional creation has taken over her life.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Keep Santa Monica Clean by Pasha Adam
Released: July 21, 2016

"A wildly entertaining take on Hollywood and the slime beneath the sparkle."
A Los Angeles noir novel shows readers a side of the city that they don't often allow themselves to see. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GLORIOUS HERESIES by Lisa McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"This is a colorful, ambitious first outing that recalls Dylan Thomas' comment on Flann O'Brien's At Swim-Two-Birds: 'Just the book to give your sister, if she is a dirty, boozey girl.'"
Drink, drugs, and religion are the familiar demons hounding young and old in Cork City, Ireland, where an accidental murder darkens several lives in this vibrant debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JUICE by Jay McInerney
NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2012

"Much of the material here sounds like it was more fun to research than to write or read."
Another collection of the acclaimed writer's wine journalism, dominated by short pieces for the Wall Street Journal, some of which seem to have been decanting for too long. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW IT ENDED by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 10, 2009

"The wit and the engaging voice in the best of these stories aren't enough to offset the impression that neither the third nor the second acts of the novelist's career have fulfilled the promise or equaled the accomplishment of the first."
From McInerney (The Good Life, 2006, etc.), a collection of 26 stories spanning some three decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIGHT, PRECIOUS DAYS by Jay McInerney
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Whether you love him or hate him, this novel is just what you're expecting from McInerney. So he must be doing it on purpose."
McInerney returns to Russell and Corrine Calloway, the protagonists of his last two novels—call it The Adventures of Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants, Volume III: The Cialis Years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOOD LIFE by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"The title suggests a number of questions—What constitutes the good life? Is it possible to sustain it in post-9/11 New York? Can it be bought? Or earned?—that the author fails to resolve."
McInerney's novel of 9/11 and its aftershocks offers acute cultural observation before sinking into a sappy romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MODEL BEHAVIOR by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 1998

"Droll, sharp-edged fun."
A mordantly funny portrait of the incestuous, fame-addled worlds of publishing and celebrity journalism, as viewed through the eyes of a frantinally lovelorn writer. Read full book review >