Search Results: "Nada Prouty"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"A sobering account of democratic fallibility in an age of anxiety."
Lebanese-born ex-FBI and -CIA operative Prouty offers a disturbing account of how anti-Arab sentiment among key government officials led to her dismissal from the intelligence community and the suspension of her U.S. citizenship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NADA by Carmen Laforet
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 13, 2007

"Poignant but not outstanding."
Published in 1944, now reissued in a new translation, this influential first novel by prize-winning Spanish author Laforet (1921-2004) describes one hellish year in the life of a young woman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Searching for Nada by Jeff Haas
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 20, 2012

"A handful of satisfying stories and a few too many that seem like writing exercises."
A collection of amusing stories that will pique the imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOY OF NADA by Sue Genaro Legacy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 29, 2013

"A sincerely told story, though readers may find it difficult to sympathize with the writer's reactions to life's sometimes less-than-ideal circumstances."
In this debut memoir, Legacy discusses her lifelong quest to deal with fear and anxiety. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 13, 1996

"But he's totally on time when it comes to great art, and in a critical idiom that's his all alone."
For those unlucky readers who've missed such singularly American books as The Omni-Americans (1970) and Stomping the Blues (1976), Murray has collected his most recent essays from largely obscure sources and assembled another world-beating prose obbligato—necessary for the times by virtue of its transcendent aesthetics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1997

"A sexually forthright and amusing contemporary Candide (or, if you will, Candy)."
Yocandra In The Paradise Of Nada ($21.95; May 1, 1997; 160 pp.; 1- 55970-362-8): A zestful portrayal of a young woman revolutionary in today's Cuba adroitly juxtaposes its questing heroine's hopeful energies to the desiccated sensibilities of the annoyingly generic men (including the Traitor and the Nihilist, among others) whom she expects to become both lovers and mentors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T SAY A WORD, MAMÁ / NO DIGAS NADA, MAMÁ by Joe Hayes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"This book overflows with affection—and you can never have too much of that. (Bilingual picture book. 4-7)"
Mamá has always been proud of her loving daughters, even when they've grown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STOKER'S MANUSCRIPT by Royce Prouty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2013

"An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein and for anyone whose reading tastes extend into the realm of superstition."
California resident Prouty's debut novel will stoke the interest of Dracula lovers everywhere. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"The big picture, in large strokes, by a man of unusual courage in going out on limbs."
Following Oliver Stone's JFK, Prouty (whom Stone depicted as ``X,'' Jim Garrison's secret informant on the military-industrial complex) offers an update on the assassination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZERO THE HERO by Joan Holub
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2012

"A hero and some villains and good winning over evil (oh, and all that educational stuff, too), all wrapped in humor and tied with a comic bow—what could be better? (Picture book. 7-12)"
The counting numbers get their comeuppance in the havoc that breaks out after they fail to believe in Zero's heroic powers. Read full book review >