Search Results: "Nancy Gibbs"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"In a well-researched, disinterested analysis, the authors show that collisions of ego, personality and politics can often result in creation, not destruction."
Two Time magazine editors chart the zigzag arc of relationships among the men who have occupied the White House since the mid-20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POACHED by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"This thrill-ride of a mystery is chock-full of hijinks for middle-grade sleuths and budding zoologists alike. (Mystery. 8-12)"
In this sequel to Belly Up (2010), 12-year-old trouble-magnet Teddy is still living at FunJungle, a massive zoo and amusement park, with his primatologist mother and wildlife photographer father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY IN THE SKY by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Fun to use with preschoolers and younger elementary students in storytimes and as a springboard to encouraging children to observe their environments more closely. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Another title in this author-illustrator's charming I Spy… series (I Spy on the Farm, 2013, etc.), this time featuring some easily identifiable, recognizable avians and some perhaps not so much. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BEE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"This unnecessary, flimsy accessory diminishes the book's effectiveness. (Board book. 2-4)"
It's easier to be the hunter than the hunted in this board book that represents the food chain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY ON THE FARM by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A format that engages, entertains and delights—for the third time in a row. Let's hope for more. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gibbs brings a new guessing game (I Spy with My Little Eye, 2011; I Spy Under the Sea, 2012) to the youngest set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ACORN GROWS UP by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Unfortunate and inappropriate. (Board book. 3-4)"
Mouse, squirrel, bird, rabbit, boar and deer all wonder what an acorn will become, and it promises to feed and shelter these animals once it is grown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVIL SPY SCHOOL by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"It's not a nail-biter, but it certainly is an entertaining battle between good and evil. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Super-spy-in-training Ben Ripley is headed for enemy territory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PANDA-MONIUM by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Never slumping into the formulaic doldrums, the FunJungle series keeps on chugging. (author's note) (Mystery. 8-12)"
In this fourth roller coaster of an endangered-species mystery, Teddy is still living at the giant zoo/amusement park called FunJungle, and he's still smack dab in the epicenter of the brouhaha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPY SCHOOL SECRET SERVICE by Stuart Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"This is espionage well worth uncovering. (Thriller. 8-12)"
Only a few months after accidently blowing up the principal's office at the CIA Academy of Espionage, 13-year-old Benjamin Ripley is back with another explosive assignment, and the stakes couldn't be any higher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOT IN THE DARK by Tony Gibbs
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 17, 1996

"Still, acceptable regional series opener for sailboat aficionados."
New nautical Baywatch-with-boats series arrives with a cargo of romance, offshore drug smuggling, and intricate sailing lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY UNDER THE SEA by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A clever introduction to ocean life. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An under-the-sea guessing and counting game from the creator of I Spy with My Little Eye (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE by Edward Gibbs
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? (Picture book. 2-6)"
Readers play the "I Spy" game with hidden animals, guessing their identities using only peep-hole glimpses of an eye and a patch of color. Read full book review >