Search Results: "Nancy Woodman"


BOOK REVIEW

SEA-FARI DEEP by Nancy Woodman
Released: April 1, 1999

"The layout combines text, pastels, watercolors, full-color photographs, and a border; if such a busy, cluttered format occasionally obscures the text for younger readers, it may attract MTV-age readers accustomed to the frantic pace of web pages. (maps, glossary) (Picture book. 10-14)"
The Jason Project is familiar to many Internet surfers, who have watched and even interacted with scientists off the coast of Baja California, in Mexico, as they dive to the ocean floor to explore deep sea vents, and the creatures which form near them, including the astounding bacteria that use chemical energy to make sugar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIRT by Steve Tomecek
by Steve Tomecek, illustrated by Nancy Woodman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Instructions for making and exploring a soil ecosystem in a bottle complete the picture. (Nonfiction. 4-8)"
Lots of neat facts and easy-to-read explanations about dirt (or soil, as the scientists prefer) can be found in this Jump Into Science title for young readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANA BIBI'S EXCELLENT FORTUNES by Betsy Woodman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2012

"Good-humored, soft-centered, nostalgic armchair tourism."
Memories of the Raj are never far away in an affectionately old-fashioned tale of community life set in the fictional Indian hill town of Hamara Nagar in 1960. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HISTORY OF THE SHIP by Richard Woodman
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

Coracle, curragh, and carrack, tramp and dreadnought, opium clipper and Scotch boilerships all, and all lovingly detailed in this shrewd encyclopedic history of seafaring (complete with a dash of danger and romance) from Woodman (author of the Captain Drinkwater novels: A Private Revenge, 1990, etc.), who spent his working life under the red ensign. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2001

"For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C.S. Forester who crave true stories of high adventure in Nelson's navy—although many of those fans would be better served by numerous, more scholarly histories of the epoch that are readily available."
A historical study of the fighting officers and sailors who served in Great Britain's powerful navy during the golden age of Admiral Horatio Nelson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"Only groupies will think this is anything but intellectual and psychic quicksand. (Author tour)"
A drum-beater for masculinity and an icon of feminist psychoanalysis here deconstruct a Russian fairy tale, reducing an enchanting story to psycho-mush. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

NANCY MACLEAN
by Jody Seaborn

It seems inevitable the phrase “vast right-wing conspiracy” will pop into your head while reading Duke University historian Nancy MacLean’s disquieting Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America. After all, the phrase made famous by Hillary Clinton in the 1990s popped into MacLean’s head a few times while she researched and wrote her ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

EMERALDS INCLUDED by Betsy Woodman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2014

"A cozy nonmystery that will be welcomed by Woodman's loyal following."
The third in Woodman's series about a Scottish expatriate living among other lovable eccentrics in a northern Indian village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE POTION NUMBER 10 by Betsy Woodman
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"Colorful, exuberant, yet frustratingly directionless."
Can a 59-year-old widow in the Indian Himalayas find new love? Does she want to? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 1992

"The women's narratives speak eloquently for themselves."
A notable contribution to the understanding of women's development, as leading Jungian analyst Woodman comments on and provides a theoretical framework for personal accounts by three of her clients. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENRY AND THE VALENTINE SURPRISE by Nancy Carlson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Carlson's familiar characters provide a sweetly thought-provoking Valentine interlude for the early-elementary set. (Picture book. 5-8)"
When Henry and his classmates find a heart-shaped box on Mr. McCarthy's desk, Sydney wonders whether "Mr. McCarthy has a girlfriend." Read full book review >