Search Results: "Naomi S. Baron"


BOOK REVIEW

WORDS ONSCREEN by Naomi S. Baron
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"A clear call for common sense and reason that will likely fall on ears covered with headphones."
A darkling view of what our world—and what we—will be like if codex reading eventually surrenders to the flickering screens of e-readers.Read full book review >

BLOG POST

AUGUST'S MUST-READ SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY & HORROR BOOKS
by John DeNardo

The final month of Summer reading season is upon us but that doesn't mean there aren't new and awesome stories to be read. Here's a roundup of the speculative fiction books that you should be looking at in August. They include stories about a magic-infused alternate history, witches in the Old West, a journey beyond Earth's ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NAOMI ALDERMAN
by Rachel Sugar

The world of Naomi Alderman’s novel The Power is very much like our own, with one crucial difference: women—teenage girls, really (like everything else, it begins with the girls) discover they can send jolts of electricity with the tips of their fingers. What they have, suddenly, is raw power: the charge is enough to shock, to maim, to kill. The ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DEFRIENDED by Ruth Baron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 1, 2013

"Baron produces a novel that feels based on adult assumptions regarding teens' use of Facebook; it will likely appeal only to the disconnected adult gift-giver with no sense of teen reading taste. (Horror. 12-16)"
A ghost-story wannabe for the digital age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 31, 2012

"H.R. Giger meets Keith Haring, illuminated by the artist's engaging insight."
Part monograph, part manifesto, Baron's (El Paso, 1981) illustrated book presents an overview of his life's work creating "embellished fantasy images." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2011

"A misguided focus on sex and booze overshadows the moments of insight and inspiration."
A memoir of one young woman's experience working as Ralph Reed's spokeswoman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVING THE GOOD DEATH by Scott  Baron
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 20, 2017

"This paranormal tale sets an intriguing stage, but its blander passages dilute the comedy."
Baron (Snow White's Walk of Shame, 2017, etc.) offers a novel in which Death comes to life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LA DOLCE VITA by Herb Baron
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 6, 2012

"A heartfelt, touching look back on a full life."
A World War II vet and businessman reflects on a life spent with his beloved wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"Convincing argument that the return of the big carnivores will sharpen the debate over how humans situate themselves in the environment—at least, it certainly should. (3 illustrations, 2 maps, not seen)"
A thoughtful history from environmental reporter Baron elegantly forewarns of the mountain lion's return to human-populated landscapes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Unraveling the Christmas Star Mystery by Irene Baron
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 8, 2012

"Intriguing study of the 'Christmas star' but in need of further scientific backing."
Debut writer and former science teacher Baron tackles the ancient mystery of the Christmas star—the astronomical phenomenon recorded in the Bible as having heralded the birth of Jesus Christ. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEAN ROSEN IS NOT FOR SALE by Jeff Baron
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 18, 2014

"Readers will relish his bravado, wit and creativity as Sean emerges from his encounters wiser yet still determined to follow his dreams. (Fiction. 11-14)"
A fledgling screenwriter, podcast creator and potential entertainment-industry innovator, 13-year-old Sean is full of ideas. Read full book review >