Search Results: "Natalie Long"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A vividly illustrated picture book about one of Mother Nature's mysteries, with plenty of kid appeal."
An eagle named Ranger Baldy, who's also an animal rescuer and conservationist, joins a cast of friendly, Disney-esque animals in his first adventure. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY HEART IS BROKEN, BUT MY RESOLVE IS NOT
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 2 - Eleventy Billion
Talky Talk: Switcheroo
Bonus Factor:
 Untold Stories
Relationship Status: Actually, Could You Introduce Me to Your (Nonfiction) Friend?

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face

As stunning – and familiar – as this is ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WILD AND WONDERFUL
by Julie Danielson

At the end of John Cage and Lois Long’s Mud Book, we see a birthday cake made out of mud with dried dandelions for candles. To boot, we’ve been instructed prior to that precisely how to make a mud cake. “Make a wish,” this last page states with unequivocal glee.

I love this. Could there be a better antidote ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BOOKS I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO IN JUNE 2017
by Leila Roy

Here we are, at the beginning of summer! (Well, supposedly we’re at the beginning of summer—it’s been cold enough here in Maine that we’re still making fires!)

Anyway! Here are a few of the books I’m looking forward to this month:

Saints and Misfits, by S.K. Ali

This book is easily—EASILY—at the top of my June Want List. I’ve ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

RHINO’S GREAT BIG ITCH! by Natalie Chivers
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"Pretty but imperfect. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Who can scratch in just the right place? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUB by Natalie Babbitt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 1994

"Not to mention the dog,' says Babbitt in dedicating the book to her human models, and she doesn't; all the same, it's a delight and steals the show, as she doubtless intended. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The King and Queen are at odds: he says "too many toys" will make the Prince "soft and silly"; she says the many lessons with the King will leave him "dry and dusty." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A RECIPE FOR DISASTER by Natalie Riess
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: June 21, 2017

"A genre-buster, for sure, and a delightful mashup at that. (Graphic science fiction. 12-adult)"
In this graphic-novel sequel, a human chef must battle her way out of a murderous intergalactic cooking show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HI! by Ethan Long
Kirkus Star
by Ethan Long, illustrated by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A completely satisfying, age-appropriate package. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A clever, deceptively simple board book introduces animal sounds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT OF THE BOX by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 11, 2014

"The perfect choice for after a move or whenever boxes are handy. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Cardboard boxes may never seem dull again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WING WING BROTHERS GEOMETRY PALOOZA! by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Though the slapstick from their hysterical debut, The Wing Wing Brothers Math Spectacular (2012), is evident, the painless-learning piece is still missing. (Math picture book. 4-6)"
Those wild Wing Wing Brothers are back in their third escapade, this time exploring geometry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHAMELIA AND THE NEW KID IN CLASS by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 2, 2013

"Giving up the starring role isn't easy, but readers may appreciate Chamelia's example. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The unique Chamelia is back, but this time her antics and loud outfits aren't enough to make her the center of attention, a position that has been stolen by the new kid in school, Cooper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WING WING BROTHERS MATH SPECTACULAR! by Ethan Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2012

"This is how learning math should be—painless, comical and, yes, spectacular. (Math picture book. 4-8)"
The vaudevillian Wing Wing Brothers' attempts to outdo and upstage each other are sure to cause some giggles…and ideally some math learning, as well. Read full book review >