Search Results: "Nate Berkus"


BOOK REVIEW

THE THINGS THAT MATTER by Nate Berkus
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"A rewarding book about the stuff that fulfills us."
An intimate examination of the meaning of material possessions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETTER NATE THAN EVER by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Bravo, Nate! (Fiction. 8-13)"
A story of Broadway dreams tailor-made for the younger side of the Glee audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATE LIKES TO SKATE by Bruce Degen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"For a genuinely clever story about street skating, stick to the almost wordless classic Skates, by Ezra Jack Keats. For a nonpedantic beginning reader, Degen's offering works well enough. (Picture book/early reader. 4-7)"
Degen attempts the daunting task of writing a satisfying story using just 49 words and avoiding singsong rhymes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Nate and the Horseshoe Crabs by Nathaniel Newton
Released: March 11, 2014

"A facile, fairly conflict-free picture book with charming character design and enough science facts to inspire animal lovers to research further."
Several bird friends overcome their reluctance to help unfamiliar animals in a colorful but lightly plotted picture book by debut author/illustrator Newton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LATE NATE IN A RACE by Emily Arnold McCully
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Once readers have tackled the words, this story deflates with alarming celerity. (Picture book/early reader. 4-8)"
McCully's beginning reader demonstrates that it takes more than words to make a story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"As usual with the Nate the Great books, this story will be great fun for the first- or second-grade reader. (Easy reader. 7-9)"
Nate the Great is back and in fine form. Read full book review >