Search Results: "Nate Evans"


BOOK REVIEW

WALKER EVANS by Thomas Nau
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: April 1, 2007

"Nevertheless, it succeeds in conveying the intellectual and social environment that nurtured Evans and his unwavering artistic vision—for that reason, it's an important document. (source notes, bibliography, chronology, index) (Nonfiction. 12+)"
Nau presents the life and times of photographer Walker Evans, who first found widespread recognition with his photos for James Agee's Let Us Now Praise Famous Men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TYRANNOSAURUS RALPH by Nate Evans
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 24, 2017

"Readers in search of unalloyed wish fulfillment thickly layered with melodramatic posturing and gore-free, comics-style violence need look no further. (Graphic fantasy/science fiction. 10-12)"
A bullying victim saves Earth after his brain is transferred into the body of a T. Rex. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALKER EVANS by James R. Mellow
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1999

"Well written, lively, and thoroughly documented, Mellow's biography is a fine contribution to American art and cultural history."
A superb biography of a photographer who, dead for a quarter of a century, still exerts a powerful influence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVANS ABOVE by Rhys Bowen
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 11, 1997

"Llanfair, with its challenging mountain and well drawn locals, is appealing, as is Constable Evans, a kind of Welsh version of M.C. Beaton's Hamish MacBeth."
A pleasingly unpretentious debut that introduces Constable Evan Evans, newly arrived in Llanfair, a village at the foot of Mount Snowden in North Wales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 8, 1995

"Rathbone tells why Evans's vision of America was archetypal and powerfully original, but his persona remains an elusive presence behind the work. (24 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Serviceable and cautiously polite, this first full-length biography of photography giant Evans is nonetheless a long overdue contribution to scholarship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BEAST by Nate Evans
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Good for a few goofy laughs. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Nine-year-old Zeke's father sends a care package to Zeke and his younger sister Hannah from an aircraft carrier in the Bermuda Triangle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVANS TO BETSY by Rhys Bowen
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 18, 2002

"Too much plot and not enough Evan in this readable but overambitious outing."
Another return to Llanfair and affable Constable Evan Evans (Evan Can Wait, 2001, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >