Search Results: "Nate LeBoutillier"


BOOK REVIEW

HORSE CAMP by Nicole Helget
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2012

"While Penny and Percy are easy to dislike, it's nonetheless oddly amusing to watch their evolution into more decent people, especially since readers have the fun of viewing the change from the pair's richly biased viewpoints. (Fiction. 10-15)"
Twelve-year-old twins Penny and Percy and adopted brother Pauly are spending the summer on their Uncle Stretch's farm while their parents try to straighten out their messed-up lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETTER NATE THAN EVER by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Bravo, Nate! (Fiction. 8-13)"
A story of Broadway dreams tailor-made for the younger side of the Glee audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATE LIKES TO SKATE by Bruce Degen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"For a genuinely clever story about street skating, stick to the almost wordless classic Skates, by Ezra Jack Keats. For a nonpedantic beginning reader, Degen's offering works well enough. (Picture book/early reader. 4-7)"
Degen attempts the daunting task of writing a satisfying story using just 49 words and avoiding singsong rhymes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Nate and the Horseshoe Crabs by Nathaniel Newton
Released: March 11, 2014

"A facile, fairly conflict-free picture book with charming character design and enough science facts to inspire animal lovers to research further."
Several bird friends overcome their reluctance to help unfamiliar animals in a colorful but lightly plotted picture book by debut author/illustrator Newton. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LATE NATE IN A RACE by Emily Arnold McCully
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"Once readers have tackled the words, this story deflates with alarming celerity. (Picture book/early reader. 4-8)"
McCully's beginning reader demonstrates that it takes more than words to make a story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"As usual with the Nate the Great books, this story will be great fun for the first- or second-grade reader. (Easy reader. 7-9)"
Nate the Great is back and in fine form. Read full book review >