Search Results: "Nate Lilly"


BOOK REVIEW

COUSIN JOHN IS COMING! by Elise Broach
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"A mixed message, at best. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The pictures tell the story here. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILLY LILLY by Agnès Rosenstiehl
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2008

"Emergent readers will be drawn to Lilly's ebullient perspective and captivated by the uncluttered layout; the easy lesson on the seasons is a bonus. (Early reader. 5-7)"
This graphic-early-reader entry from Toon Books is itself an objet d'art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRIVATE LILLY by Sally Warner
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 1998

"In true six-year-old form, Lily's attention is on the problem of privacy, and while a one-chapter predicament has been spun into a novel, the childlike first-person narration is written with considerable humor and grace. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 7-9)"
Lily, who is six, her brother Casey, twelve, and their mother have moved from a house in New Jersey to a small apartment in Philadelphia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LILLY AND FIN by Cornelia Funke
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"An entertaining story with sly humor and an old-fashioned vibe. (Fantasy. 7-9)"
Wealthy, odious collectors of marine life pursue the last creature needed to complete their collection—a "genuine rainbow-scaled, green-skinned, fluorescent mermaid." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING LILLY by Peg Kehret
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"With only occasional lapses in believability, this story entertains and informs as it highlights the darker side of animal entertainment. (Fiction. 8-12)"
At first a class trip to the Glitter Tent Circus seems exciting, but as Erin and David complete the research for their project about animal abuse, they realize they must do something to stop the field trip and see if they can make a difference in the life of Lilly, a mistreated elephant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REX AND LILLY SCHOOLTIME by Laurie Krasny Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1997

"Using lots of picture clues and a limited vocabulary, the Browns carry newly independent readers along to a surprise twist at the end of each chapter, painlessly expanding their reading skills in the process. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Rex And Lilly Schooltime (32 pp.; $12.95; Apr. 1997; 0-316-10920- 7): Three short, funny chapters comprise this easy-to-read book starring dinosaurs Rex and Lilly from dino-experts Brown and Brown (When Dinosaurs Die, 1996, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >