Search Results: "Nate Powell"


BOOK REVIEW

COLIN POWELL by Howard Means
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 2, 1992

"The nation's first soldier deserves and eventually will get a better Boswell. (The labored text has photographs—not seen.)"
A barely serviceable briefing on the incumbent chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIN POWELL by Catherine Reef
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 1, 1992

"Selection of b&w publicity photos; bibliography; index. (Biography. 11-13)"
An uncritical portrait of the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff who once reported, ``Mr. President, the world is at peace.'' Reef traces Powell's career path from mediocre South Bronx student to top soldier, devoting some attention to his private life but, except for noting his opposition to Operation Desert Storm, discussing his abilities and philosophy only in vague, conventional terms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANTHONY POWELL by Michael Barber
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 24, 2004

"Amazingly dull for such a relatively short text concerning a group of brilliant artists during a lively cultural period."
Dreary biography of the writer best known for his 12-novel sequence, A Dance to the Music of Time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YEAR OF THE BEASTS by Cecil Castellucci
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 1, 2012

"It won't be for everyone, but sophisticated readers will eat this melancholy, appealingly disjointed novel right up. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 12-16)"
A tale of contemporary family and a comic that draws on Greek mythology unfold in alternating chapters, interweaving to tell of two sisters blighted by the sting of jealousy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAWN POWELL by Tim Page
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"Unconvincing in placing Powell at the forefront of mid-century authors, but gratifying to aficionados of New York City literary mores."
Novelist Dawn Powell is rediscovered in a kindly biography that also recalls the hard- drinking literati of Greenwich Village in the decades surrounding WWII. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 15, 1991

"B&w and color photos; chronology; index. (Biography. 8-11)"
This unabashedly hero-worshipping biography of the head of the Joint Chiefs of Staff suffers from the very ``larger-than-life'' portrait it creates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

"Blending scholarship and ironic detachment, an admirably balanced treatment of a politician who provoked anything but objectivity during his Marion Barry-like career. (Thirty-five b&w photographs—not seen.)"
The first full-length biography—and likely the authoritative one for years to come—of the flamboyant black congressman who, as civil-rights gadfly and as libertine, exemplified the gap between our nation's ideals and practices that was given a name in Gunnar Myrdal's ``American Dilemma.'' Blessed with good looks, eloquence, and a bully pulpit (he succeeded his father as head of the Abyssinian Baptist Church, the nation's largest black congregation), Powell became ``Mr. Civil Rights'' in the pre-King era by combining agitation and electoral politics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIN POWELL by Anne Schraff
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"For researchers, however, this is a straightforward—sometimes exciting—story of a remarkable life. (b&w photos, not seen, chronology, notes, further reading, index) (Biography. 11+)"
A chronicle of the life of the soldier, general, and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, through his decision in the fall of 1995 not to run for president. Read full book review >