Search Results: "Nate Silver"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"Some of the sections of the book are best understood by readers with mathematical reasoning skills, but the author is mostly accessible and enlightening."
An anointed wunderkind explains his own success as a prognosticator and explains why so many self-anointed "experts" are often wrong about winners in politics, sports and other realms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Rhiannon Held
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 5, 2012

"Certainly worth a try for existing lycanthrophiles."
Werewolves are threatened by a mysterious antagonist in Held's fantasy debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Makes the pirate world come alive, but purists may be put off by the author's rearrangement of details from the original story."
Chicago-based attorney Chupack expands the story of one of Robert Louis Stevenson's most memorable characters—Long John Silver—in this Treasure Island spinoff told from the pirate's perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Chris Wooding
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 25, 2014

"It's just all kinds of white-knuckle fun. (Horror. 12 & up)"
When strange insects assault a remote boarding school in England, the kids try to save the day in this tense page-turner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Motion's plot wobbles as he casts his net wide to include slavery, but his ambition is admirable, as is his stylistic elegance."
The British critic/biographer and former Poet Laureate, in his spirited sequel to Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island, keeps the core of the original (the quest), while adding his own distinctive imprint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 8, 2012

"A quick read with some interesting fantasy elements, but the passive heroine and sometimes-confusing worldbuilding disappoint. (Fantasy. 13-16)"
Brianna Paxton has always suspected she is invisible to boys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATE LIKES TO SKATE by Bruce Degen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"For a genuinely clever story about street skating, stick to the almost wordless classic Skates, by Ezra Jack Keats. For a nonpedantic beginning reader, Degen's offering works well enough. (Picture book/early reader. 4-7)"
Degen attempts the daunting task of writing a satisfying story using just 49 words and avoiding singsong rhymes. Read full book review >