Search Results: "Nate Silver"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"Some of the sections of the book are best understood by readers with mathematical reasoning skills, but the author is mostly accessible and enlightening."
An anointed wunderkind explains his own success as a prognosticator and explains why so many self-anointed "experts" are often wrong about winners in politics, sports and other realms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Rhiannon Held
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 5, 2012

"Certainly worth a try for existing lycanthrophiles."
Werewolves are threatened by a mysterious antagonist in Held's fantasy debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Makes the pirate world come alive, but purists may be put off by the author's rearrangement of details from the original story."
Chicago-based attorney Chupack expands the story of one of Robert Louis Stevenson's most memorable characters—Long John Silver—in this Treasure Island spinoff told from the pirate's perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Chris Wooding
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 25, 2014

"It's just all kinds of white-knuckle fun. (Horror. 12 & up)"
When strange insects assault a remote boarding school in England, the kids try to save the day in this tense page-turner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLERINO NATE by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Terrific well beyond the ballet lesson. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After attending a student ballet performance with his kindergarten class, Nate decides he wants to become a ballet dancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 8, 2012

"A quick read with some interesting fantasy elements, but the passive heroine and sometimes-confusing worldbuilding disappoint. (Fantasy. 13-16)"
Brianna Paxton has always suspected she is invisible to boys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"Candid and heartfelt, though at times penitential in tone."
An evangelical activist's account of the troubled relationship between his family and his rebellious, drug-addicted son. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Motion's plot wobbles as he casts his net wide to include slavery, but his ambition is admirable, as is his stylistic elegance."
The British critic/biographer and former Poet Laureate, in his spirited sequel to Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island, keeps the core of the original (the quest), while adding his own distinctive imprint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE, SIX, SEVEN, NATE! by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Nate will sing and dance his way right into readers' hearts. This is an encore performance that will leave them standing in the aisles. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Goodbye, Jankburg…hello, Broadway! Thirteen-year-old Nate Foster is back (Better Nate Than Ever, 2013) in all his hilarious, vulnerable and heartwarming glory and headed "home" to the Great White Way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETTER NATE THAN EVER by Tim Federle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Bravo, Nate! (Fiction. 8-13)"
A story of Broadway dreams tailor-made for the younger side of the Glee audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >