Search Results: "Ned Woodman"


BOOK REVIEW

SEA-FARI DEEP by Nancy Woodman
Released: April 1, 1999

"The layout combines text, pastels, watercolors, full-color photographs, and a border; if such a busy, cluttered format occasionally obscures the text for younger readers, it may attract MTV-age readers accustomed to the frantic pace of web pages. (maps, glossary) (Picture book. 10-14)"
The Jason Project is familiar to many Internet surfers, who have watched and even interacted with scientists off the coast of Baja California, in Mexico, as they dive to the ocean floor to explore deep sea vents, and the creatures which form near them, including the astounding bacteria that use chemical energy to make sugar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANA BIBI'S EXCELLENT FORTUNES by Betsy Woodman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2012

"Good-humored, soft-centered, nostalgic armchair tourism."
Memories of the Raj are never far away in an affectionately old-fashioned tale of community life set in the fictional Indian hill town of Hamara Nagar in 1960. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOOMER'S OUT-OF-THIS-WORLD CHRISTMAS by Ned Young
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Kids will connect with this wildly exuberant fantasy, and Zoomer seems destined to zoom off into further ingenious adventures in unexplored territories. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In this third entry in an imaginative series, Zoomer the zestful hound dog hits his stride with a wacky Christmas Eve visit from aliens who crash-land in the field near his house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HISTORY OF THE SHIP by Richard Woodman
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

Coracle, curragh, and carrack, tramp and dreadnought, opium clipper and Scotch boilerships all, and all lovingly detailed in this shrewd encyclopedic history of seafaring (complete with a dash of danger and romance) from Woodman (author of the Captain Drinkwater novels: A Private Revenge, 1990, etc.), who spent his working life under the red ensign. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2001

"For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C.S. Forester who crave true stories of high adventure in Nelson's navy—although many of those fans would be better served by numerous, more scholarly histories of the epoch that are readily available."
A historical study of the fighting officers and sailors who served in Great Britain's powerful navy during the golden age of Admiral Horatio Nelson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"Only groupies will think this is anything but intellectual and psychic quicksand. (Author tour)"
A drum-beater for masculinity and an icon of feminist psychoanalysis here deconstruct a Russian fairy tale, reducing an enchanting story to psycho-mush. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2006

"For the readers who stick with him until the end, the results will resonate with them just as loudly as Craig's newfound credo: to live for real. (Fiction. YA)"
Craig Gilner, a high-school student in New York City, can't deal with his grades, keep food in his stomach or prevent himself from feeling disconnected from his friends and family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TERROR IN AMERICA by Ned Kalbfleish
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"Not entirely convincing, but will further alarm those who are already afraid."
Evil Muslims wreak havoc on innocent Americans in this hypothetical sketch of a terrorist plot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OTHER NORMALS by Ned Vizzini
Released: Sept. 25, 2012

"Great geeky fun. (Fantasy. 13 & up)"
A shy role-playing-game aficionado finds slaying monsters easier than kissing a girl in this appealing adventure by the author of It's Kind of a Funny Story (2006). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIRIT HORSE by Ned Ackerman
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1998

"Reminiscent of Armstrong Sperry's Call It Courage, this is an exciting story with a richly satisfying conclusion. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Running Crane's mother has married a member of the Kainaa band, and he still feels like an outsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YEAR BEFORE THE FLOOD by Ned Sublette
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 29, 2009

"A powerful, heartfelt and sometimes angry take on a great American city."
Musician and "Afropop Worldwide" radio producer Sublette delivers an intense and thoughtful "companion volume" to The World that Made New Orleans (2008). Read full book review >