Search Results: "Nick Offerman"


BOOK REVIEW

GUMPTION by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 26, 2015

"A smart book of straight talk where laughter and logic meet."
An actor's comedic exploration into America's most gumption-exemplifying citizens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Fans of Parks and Recreation and Offerman's brand of deadpan humor are sure to gorge themselves on the healthy portion he provides."
An actor's comedic memoir and how-to guide for enjoyable living in the modern era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POOR PUPPY by Nick Bruel
Kirkus Star
by Nick Bruel, illustrated by Nick Bruel
ABC BOOKS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Just as clever, energetic and full of attitude as the first. (Picture book. 3-9)"
Bruel brings back Bad Kitty and her "present" (Puppy) from Bad Kitty (2005). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BAD KITTY VS. UNCLE MURRAY by Nick Bruel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 31, 2010

"A few lapses in the frenetic pace won't keep fans from enjoying this and looking forward to the promised sequel. (Graphic hybrid fiction. 7-10)"
Waking from a dream of Pussycat Paradise, Bad Kitty learns her humans are going on a trip. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO IS MELVIN BUBBLE? by Nick Bruel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Young readers should find him familiar, and may be moved by his example to take similar stock of themselves. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Distant cousin to "The Blind Men and the Elephant," this character portrait answers the title question through statements from a lad's father and mother, his best friend, his teddy bear and closet monster, the tooth fairy and other associates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Q POOTLE 5 by Nick Butterworth
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2001

"An unfolding, poster-sized party scene brings up the rear of this droll close encounter of the silly kind. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A burned-out rocket booster puts a kink in pudgy, green Q Pootle 5's plans to make it to his friend Z Pootle 6's birthday party on the Moon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RESCUE PARTY by Nick Butterworth
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"A cozy little story, distinguished by amiable illustrations and an entertaining foldout of the denouement, with a score of appealing creatures tugging, with varying effectiveness, on the long rope. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The picnic that Percy the park-keeper and his animal friends are enjoying is interrupted when a little rabbit falls into a deep, empty well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL TOGETHER NOW! by Nick Butterworth
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Butterworth (The Rescue Party, 1993, etc.) employs good cheer in drawings that make the whole venture extremely user-friendly. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A smiling boy, dressed in a green T-shirt, jeans, and socks that are about to fall off his feet, wants to have a picnic, but his six little friendsWhitey, the bear; George, the monkey; Hippo; Croc; Millie, the elephant; and Wilson, the giraffeare hiding from him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1997

"Probably not, but the subtext is clever: Eating and reading are adventures—go for it. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This amusing book gives children a chance to play with their food without being reprimanded and without making a mess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME DADS by Nick Bland
by Nick Bland, illustrated by Nick Bland
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2017

"Pretty light fare to share with tots noticing differences among dads. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rhyming celebration of the way dads are different from one another. Read full book review >