Search Results: "Nico Medina"


BOOK REVIEW

GO AHEAD, ASK ME.  by Nico Medina
NONFICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Don't bother. (Nonfiction. YA)"
This conversation-starter crosses the line. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STRAIGHT ROAD TO KYLIE by Nico Medina
FICTION
Released: May 22, 2007

"Averaging at least a half-dozen yuks per page, Medina's first offering packs slick, Gossip-Girl-Goes-to-Orlando language stylings with realistic yet over-the-top situations that should have teen readers—gay or straight—doing the locomotion for more. (Fiction. YA)"
Best friends, booze, bodaciousness and bitch-slaps are the name of the game in this hilarious, full-on twist on the mistaken-identities conundrum. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

1 BIG SALAD by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 7, 2016

"From layout to text to artwork, this counting book takes 'playing with your food' to a new level. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Photographs of salad ingredients, embellished with details done in black ink, create whimsical arrays from one through 10. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUANA AND LUCAS by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"The real gift of this book comes from presenting a different point of reference to American children who hear only stories of poverty and need coming out of South America. (Fiction. 5-9)"
Meet Juana, a lively and opinionated grade school girl growing up in Bogotá, Colombia. She strongly dislikes wearing her hot and itchy school uniform but even more having to learn to speak English: "Why not just speak in Spanish? It is SO much easier!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC PASTA by Juana Medina
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Younger kids are not likely to recognize many of the lesser-known types of pasta, but what a toothsome way to have fun with them. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Get your forks ready—this salute to pasta via the ABCs is truly entertaining, as the subtitle states. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 13, 2012

"A worthy effort weakened by a rushed conclusion. (Magical realism. 14-18)"
Laden with the hopes and fears of her village, a 16-year-old girl casts aside her appointed calling to discover her true destiny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUBOP CITY BLUES by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2012

"Love of life, music, sex and language redeem a work that might have benefited from more continuity and focus."
Storytelling that playfully illuminates the essence of storytelling, though heavier on atmosphere and color than narrative momentum and cohesion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITE CROCODILE by K.T. Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 30, 2015

"A heart-rending look at a culture decimated by the cruelty of the Khmer Rouge."
Mysterious disappearances, danger, and death converge against the exotic backdrop of post-Khmer Rouge Cambodia in Medina's debut effort. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 12, 2013

"Far more than just a problem novel, this book sheds light on a serious issue without ever losing sight of its craft. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A nuanced, heart-wrenching and ultimately empowering story about bullying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LITTLE LOVE by C.C. Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 5, 2000

"Solid, well-honed entertainment."
A treatise on love and culture, set against the backdrop of the new, hip Miami, explores the lives of four Latinas. Read full book review >